SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE 3 months just 99¢/month



Weekend rewind: Jordan Kawaguchi is first UND player with three OT winners in roughly 30 years


Jordan Kawaguchi keeps scoring big goals for UND -- especially at home.

He buried his third overtime winner since January on Saturday night re-directing a pass from Matt Kiersted past St. Cloud State goalie David Hrenak .

It has been a long, long time since a UND player has scored three overtime winners in his career.

In fact, the last person to do it was Justin Duberman nearly 30 years ago.

Duberman scored his three overtime winners in the exact span of a year -- Nov. 10, 1989 against Minnesota Duluth, March 12, 1990 against Northern Michigan in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association playoffs and Nov. 10, 1990 against Colorado College.


A few other players scored two overtime winners in their careers since then -- Greg Johnson, Lee Goren, Brandon Bochenski, Drew Stafford, Darcy Zajac, Matt Frattin and Drake Caggiula.

That's quite a list of impressive players, including the 2016 and 2000 Frozen Four Most Outstanding Players.

See a full chart of UND's overtime winners since 1987 (that's how far back I could find online archives) at the bottom of this story.

The other interesting thing is how many of UND's overtime winners in recent times have come at home. UND's last seven overtime winners -- and 11 of the last 12 -- have been scored in Ralph Engelstad Arena.

The last overtime winner away from The Ralph was Casey Johnson's in Anchorage in October 2017.

SCSU has lowest shot total in years

UND is the national leader in fewest shots on goal allowed per game.


The Fighting Hawks are allowing opponents an average of just 19.7 per game. Even so, what transpired Saturday night was rather improbable.

UND held St. Cloud State to just 10 shots on goal through three periods and 12 for the game.

That matches the lowest output for the Huskies since they had 12 shots on goal on Jan. 28, 2012 against Minnesota at Mariucci Arena. The last time it had fewer in a game was Dec. 30, 2010, when the Huskies were held to 11 shots in a 4-3 win over Miami in Estero, Fla.

For the weekend, St. Cloud State was held to 31 shots on goal, which marks the lowest total in a two-game series for the Huskies since that January 2012 series at Minnesota, when they only had 25.

Other notes

  • St. Cloud State only registered one shot on goal in the third period -- and it didn't even come from inside the zone. It was a neutral zone shot from Sam Hentges.
  • UND won the faceoff battle 34-22. St. Cloud State's Will Hammer went 1-10.
  • Andrew Peski quietly earned another plus and is now at plus-12 for the season, which is tied with Kawaguchi for fourth in the nation. The only players ahead of him are Jack Dugan of Providence (plus-14), Henry Thrun of Harvard (plus-14) and Collin Adams of UND (plus-13). Bemidji State's Elias Rosen and UMass's Colin Felix are tied with Peski and Kawaguchi at plus-12.
  • As reported in my story, this is the first time UND has gone to Christmas break with a perfect home record since 1964.
  • If UND sweeps Alabama Huntsville in January, it will set the record for the longest home winning streak since Ralph Engelstad Arena opened in 2001. UND is currently at 11 in a row at home. The record mark of 12 was set during the 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons.
  • St. Cloud State's Kevin Fitzgerald was called for a checking from behind major in the second period. That's the sixth game misconduct that St. Cloud State has been called for this season. That's tied for the NCHC lead. That's a surprising stat, as I noted in this story Friday , because the Huskies have traditionally been at the bottom of the nation in penalty minutes.
  • UND currently has the fewest game misconducts in the NCHC (one, Cole Smith). St. Cloud State and Omaha have been called for six, Minnesota Duluth and Colorado College three, Denver, Western Michigan and Miami have two. Denver's Slava Demin is the only NCHC player so far with two. If he gets one more, it will be an automatic one-game suspension.

List of UND's OT winners since 1987

Nov. 23, 2019 -- Jordan Kawaguchi vs. St. Cloud State

Oct. 25, 2019 -- Westin Michaud vs. Bemidji State

March 9, 2019 -- Jordan Kawaguchi vs. Omaha

Jan. 12, 2019 -- Jordan Kawaguchi vs. Colorado College


Jan. 11, 2019 -- Ludvig Hoff vs. Colorado College

Nov. 3, 2018 -- Jacob Bernard-Docker vs. Wisconsin

March 10, 2018 -- Nick Jones vs. Omaha (first round NCHC playoffs)

Oct. 7, 2017 -- Casey Johnson at Alaska Anchorage

March 11, 2017 -- Trevor Olson vs. St. Cloud State (first round NCHC playoffs)

Feb. 4, 2017 -- Mike Gornall vs. St. Cloud State

Feb. 19, 2016 -- Austin Poganski vs. Minnesota Duluth (penalty shot)

Nov. 14, 2015 -- Luke Johnson vs. Miami

Feb. 21, 2015 -- Drake Caggiula at Western Michigan

Jan. 31, 2015 -- Brendan O'Donnell at Omaha

Nov. 1, 2014 -- Bryn Chyzyk vs. Air Force (shorthanded)

March 29, 2014 -- Connor Gaarder vs. Ferris State (NCAA regional final, Cincinnati)

Dec. 1, 2012 -- Drake Caggiula at Colorado College

Nov. 17, 2012 -- Mark MacMillan vs. Minnesota Duluth

March 19, 2011 -- Matt Frattin vs. Denver (WCHA Final Five championship, St. Paul)

Feb. 26, 2010 -- Matt Frattin at Colorado College

March 1, 2009 -- Darcy Zajac vs. Colorado College

Feb. 20, 2009 -- Chay Genoway at Alaska Anchorage

Jan. 3, 2009 -- Brett Hextall vs. Bemidji State

March 30, 2008 -- Andrew Kozek vs. Wisconsin (NCAA regional final, Madison)

March 2, 2008 -- Chris VandeVelde at Minnesota Duluth

Feb. 1, 2008 -- Evan Trupp at Minnesota

March 25, 2007 -- Chris Porter vs. Minnesota (NCAA regional final, Denver)

Oct. 13, 2006 -- Darcy Zajac at Wisconsin

Oct 8, 2004 -- Drew Stafford at Maine (penalty shot)

March 13, 2004 -- Drew Stafford vs. Michigan Tech (first round WCHA playoffs)

March 16, 2003 -- Nick Fuher vs. Denver (first round WCHA playoffs)

March 15, 2003 -- Brandon Bochenski vs. Denver (first round WCHA playoffs)

Nov. 9, 2002 -- James Massen at St. Cloud State

Oct. 12, 2002 -- David Lundbohm vs. Michigan (in Buffalo)

Dec. 29, 2001 -- Brandon Bochenski vs. Michigan State (in Detroit)

Dec. 28, 2001 -- David Hale vs. Michigan (in Detroit)

Dec. 9, 2000 -- Jeff Panzer at Colorado College

Dec. 28, 1999 -- Lee Goren at Wisconsin

Nov. 21, 1998 -- Lee Goren vs. Colorado College

March 15, 1997 -- Peter Armbrust vs. Minnesota (WCHA Final Five championship, St. Paul)

Oct. 18, 1996 -- Jason Blake vs. Denver

Jan. 13, 1996 -- Ian Kallay vs. Alaska Anchorage

Oct. 30, 1993 -- Dino Grillo at Denver

Jan. 3, 1993 -- Greg Johnson vs. Bowling Green

Dec. 7, 1991 -- Dane Jackson vs. Denver

Feb. 16, 1991 -- Jeff McLean vs. Minnesota Duluth

Jan. 18, 1991 -- Greg Johnson vs. Alaska Anchorage

Nov. 10, 1990 -- Justin Duberman vs. Colorado College

March 12, 1990 -- Justin Duberman vs. Northern Michigan (WCHA third place, St. Paul)

Nov. 10, 1989 -- Justin Duberman vs. Minnesota Duluth

Feb. 3, 1989 -- Grant Paranica at Minnesota Duluth

Oct. 21, 1988 -- Neil Eisenhut at Colorado College

Feb. 28, 1988 -- Lee Davidson at Michigan Tech (first round WCHA playoffs)

Feb. 19, 1988 -- Rick Forst vs. Minnesota Duluth

Oct. 9, 1987 -- Scott Koberinski at Michigan Tech

*** Playoff OT winners in bold

What to read next
Featuring boys and girls basketball results from across the region, prep hockey scores, area men's and women's basketball results and much more!
Featuring N.D. Class A and B boys and girls basketball polls, Minnesota prep hockey polls, Summit League men's and women's basketball standings and much more!
Featuring prep hockey results from across the region, area boys and girls basketball scores, the prep honor roll and much more!
Featuring prep basketball results from across the region, boys and girls hockey scores, men's and women's hockey polls and much more!