Weather Forecast


Wave win 8A boys title

GLYNDON, Minn.—Quality carried East Grand Forks Senior High to its first Section 8A boys track title since 2014 here Saturday.

The Green Wave won the championship with 103 points to beat runner-up Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton by 13.

Frazee won the girls division by a single point, scoring 77 points to runner-up Crookston's 76.

Of the Senior High boys' teams 103 points, 80 came on top-three places

"That's normal for us,'' Wave coach Kirk Misialek said. "The stars came out to play today; the best athletes had their best days. Sometimes it doesn't always work out that way. But it did for us today.''

Senior High scored 60 points on six first-place finishes. Luke Vonesh (shot put), Felix Zuniga (400), Tyson Mahar (3,200) and Bryce Klein (triple jump) all won open events, while the foursome of Casey Kallock, Jackson Galstad, Blake Moen and Zuniga at the anchor won the 4x200 and 4x400 relays.

Vonesh had the first 50-footer of his career in the shot, winning with a throw of 50-0.75. "Any time you throw a 50-footer, you should have a chance to make the finals at state,'' Misialek said. "That was the first event we expected to score points and Luke did it in the prelims. That got everybody fired up.''

Klein, meanwhile, won the triple jump in dramatic fashion. "Bryce was in fourth or fifth place going into his final jump, and he moved all the way up to first. That was clutch,'' Misialek said.

Also big for the Wave was the 3,200. Mahar ran a personal-record 10:15.47 to win, with teammate Sakariye Ismail placing third.

"We were down by five points (in team standings) going into the 3,200,'' Misialek said. "Going 1-3 there pretty much nailed the title. Then we won the 4x400.''

Other area open winners were Crookston's Lukas Meier (pole vault), Roseau's Jacob Lindemann (discus) and Clearbrook-Gonvick's Josiah Hubbard (300 hurdles).

Crookston's Katherine Geist was a double open winner, taking the 1,600 and 3,200, to spark Crookston to its second-place finish in the girls division. Aleece Durbin won the long jump.

Also winning a pair of open events was Roseau sprinter Sophie Helgeson (100, 200). Also winning an open event in the girls' division was Warroad's Kelby Goulet (400).