Sacred Heart falls in state baseball semifinals, finishes fourth

Hayfield pitcher throws one-hit shutout as No. 1 seed beats Eagles 6-0 in the state semifinals on Wednesday.

4 David Larson.JPG
East Grand Forks Sacred Heart catcher David Larson fields a throw in the third-place game of the Minnesota state Class A tournament June 15, 2022, in St. Cloud.
Jared Rubado, Detroit Lakes Tribune.
We are part of The Trust Project.

ST. CLOUD, Minn. — East Grand Forks Sacred Heart dropped two games Wednesday at the Minnesota state baseball tournament.

In the semifinals, Hayfield pitcher Easton Fritcher, who's committed to play college baseball at the University of Minnesota, tossed a one-hit shutout as the No. 1 Vikings beat Sacred Heart 6-0 in the semifinals.

Sacred Heart leadoff hitter Cullen Rohrich registered the Eagles' lone hit in the semifinals.

Hayfield is the defending state champions.

The Eagles then fell 9-8 to New York Mills in the third-place game.


Will Oakes was 3-for-4 to lead New York Mills.

In the seventh inning, New York Mills won when Jonah Johnson doubled and came around to score on a single to centerifled by Bode Roberts.


Hayfield 6,EGF Sacred Heart 0

HAY 105 000 0 – 6 7 0

SAC 000 000 0 – 0 1 2

WP – Easton Fritcher; LP – Parker Erickson

Highlights – H: Zander Jacobson 2x3, HR, 2 RBI, Fritcher 13 Ks; SH: Cullen Rohrich 1x3

Third place


New York Mills 9,

EGF Sacred Heart 8

SAC 510 020 0 – 8 10 1

NYM 222 020 1 – 9 13 1

WP – Cody Barthel; LP – Breck Bloom

Highlights – SH: Isaac Zavarol 3x3, 2 RBI, 2B, run, Ethan Arntson 3x4, 3 RBI; NYM: Will Oakes 3x4, 2 runs, Jacob Guck 2x4, 2 RBI, Cody Barthel 2x4

Related Topics: SACRED HEART
Miller has covered sports at the Grand Forks Herald since 2004 and was the state sportswriter of the year in 2019.

His primary beat is UND football but also reports on a variety of UND sports and local preps.

He can be reached at (701) 780-1121, or on Twitter at @tommillergf.
What to read next
Arason joins Ryan Todhunter (2009) as the only other Red River boys athlete to win the award. Previous Red River female winners include Shelby Frank (2018, 2019), Ashley Rone (2015), Briona Reynolds (1998, 2000, 2001) and Stephanie Wigness (1995).