Cavalier's four picks lead area selections to North Dakota 9B all-state team

Cavalier wide receiver Landon Carter was also named the division's outstanding senior athlete of the year.

Cavalier wide receiver Landon Carter (11) hauls in a pass as North Star's Hunter Hagler (12) looks on during a N.D. Class B 9-man playoff football game in Cavalier on Saturday, October 22, 2022.
Photo courtesy Nicki Smith / Captivate Portraits
We are part of The Trust Project.

GRAND FORKS — The Cavalier football program lost four games in the last four years, all in state title games, and two big reasons for that winning tradition were honored Monday when the North Dakota 9-man all-state football team was released.

Cavalier wide receiver Landon Carter and running back Jacob Steele were honored as all-state picks for a third-straight year.

Carter was on the first-team offense, while Steele was a first-team linebacker on the defense. Cavalier quarterback Sterling Enerson and linebacker Levi Hinkle landed on the second team.

Carter was also named the state's outstanding senior athlete of the year for 9-man.

Carter finished with 45 catches for 1,010 yards and 10 touchdowns, while running 96 times for 718 yards and 11 touchdowns. Defensively, Carter had nine interceptions.


Carter broke the Cavalier all-time receptions record and career yards record, which were held by former UND wide receiver Brady Trenbeath (2000-03 at Cavalier).

For his career, Carter finished with 2,037 receiving yards and 104 receptions.

Steele also broke Cavalier's school record for career assisted tackles (278). Offensively, he ran 121 times for 705 yards and 16 touchdowns while also catching 18 balls for 230 yards and four touchdowns. On defense, Steele had 16 tackles for loss and eight sacks.

Enerson became Cavalier's sixth-consecutive all-state senior quarterback. He was 94-for-173 passing for 1,960 yards, 24 touchdowns and three interceptions.

Hinkle finished with 34 solo tackles, 42 assisted tackles and 9.0 tackles for loss.

North Prairie went 10-1 this season before falling in the state semifinals to eventual state champion New Salem-Almont by four points. North Prairie landed three on the all-state first team.

Senior quarterback Nicholas Mears had 147 carries for 1,820 yards and 32 touchdowns. He was 37-for-68 passing for 642 yards and nine touchdowns. On defense, Mears had 43 tackles and six interceptions.

Junior offensive lineman Nate Tastad led an offensive line that paved the way for 4,197 yards rushing. Defensively, he had 53 tackles, 12.0 tackles for loss and four sacks.


Junior defensive back Blake Mattson rushed 180 times for 1,764 yards and 20 touchdowns. He had 299 receiving yards and six touchdowns. On defense, he had 49 tackles, 4.0 tackles for loss and two interceptions.

May-Port-C-G, North Star and St. John each had three all-state picks.

St. John offensive lineman Caden Belgarde was a first-team choice. Belgarde, who was a second-team all-state pick last year, led an offensive line that paved the way for more than 2,800 yards and 40 touchdowns.

St. John seniors Brayton Baker and Jadance McCloud were second-team picks. Baker had 21 catches for 406 yards and seven touchdowns, while McCloud had 82 carries for 732 yards and 16 touchdowns.

May-Port-C-G senior Xyler Carlson was a first-team pick at linebacker. He had 99 rushing attempts for 1,260 yards and 20 touchdowns. He also caught 20 balls for 387 yards. On defense, he had 48 solo tackles, 40 assisted tackles, 11.0 tackles for loss and two interceptions.

May-Port-C-G's Ethan Bergstrom and Andrew Aarsvold were named to the second team. Bergstrom, a repeat all-state selection, ran 70 times for 866 yards and 15 touchdowns. He caught 14 passes for 200 yards. Aarsvold anchored an offensive line for a team that rused for 3,260 yards and 49 touchdowns. He also didn't allow a sack all season.

North Star's Reuben Clay, Bryce Prouty and Garrett Westlind all made the all-state second team.

Westlind, a junior, had 176 carries for 1,081 yards and 13 touchdowns. He also caught 18 passes for 400 yards and three touchdowns. Westlind added four interceptions on defense.


Clay, a junior, finished with 97.5 tackles, including 67 solo tackles, and 5.0 tackles for loss.

Prouty, a senior, had 52.5 tackles, 5.5 tackles for loss and 2.0 sacks.

North Border had two all-state picks. senior T.J. Cosley was a first-team choice at defensive back. He had 104 carries for 631 yards, while throwing for 919 yards and 14 touchdowns. On defense, he had 65.5 tackles and five interceptions.

Cosley's teammate Carson Brown was a second-team pick. The senior had 105.5 total tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss and three fumble recoveries. On offense, he had 117 carries for 1,031 yards and 15 touchdowns. He also caught 20 balls for 254 yards and five touchdowns.

Hatton-Northwood and Nelson County each had one all-state pick.

Hatton-Northwood senior Ethan Steinbrink was a second-team choice. Despite missing two games with an ankle injury, Steinbrink had 30 solo tackles, 28 assisted tackles, six sacks, 11 solo tackles for loss and three forced fumbles. He played center on offense.

Nelson County's Ross Thompson was a repeat all-state pick as a 6-foot-4, 215-pound defensive end-offensive lineman. Thompson had 16 solo tackles and 50 assisted tackles. He added 9.0 tackles for loss, 3.0 sacks and 17 quarterback hurries. On offense, he helped a Nelson County team rush for 1,714 yards and 25 touchdowns.

N.D. 9B all-state
First team offense
QB -- Nicholas Mears, North Prairie; Marshall Lindgren, South Border; Javin Friesz, Grant County-Flasher; Walker Braaten, Westhope-N-G; Offensive line -- Nate Tastad, North Prairie, A.J. Heins, New Salem-Almont, Caden Belgarde, St. John; running back -- Andrew Arth, Wyndmere-Lidgerwood, Clay Hovelson, Maple River, Wyatt Caraballo, Divide County; tight end -- Colton Ness, LaMoure-L-M; wide receiver -- Landon Carter, Cavalier
First team defense
Defensive line -- Levi Becker, New Salem-Almont, Ayden Amundson, Surrey; linebackers -- Garrett Hebl, LaMoure-L-M, Xyler Carlson, MPCG, Jacob Steele, Cavalier, Ty Wolding, New Salem-Almont, Wyatt Ottmar, Grant County-Flasher; defensive backs -- T.J. Cosley, North Border, Blake Mattson, North Prairie
Second team
Cruz Hernandez, Hankinson; Tate Mart, LLM, Brock Wendel, LLM, Anthony Hanson, LLM; Ethan Steinbrink, Hatton-Northwood; Marty Rohrbeck, Maple River; Ethan Bergstrom, MPCG, Andrew Aarsvold, MPCG; Levi Hinkle, Cavalier; Sterling Enerson, Cavalier; Ross Thompson, Nelson County; Carson Brown, North Border; Reuben Clay, North Star; Bryce Prouty, North Star; Garrett Westlind, North Star; Trevor Moos, Napoleon; Alex Pitman, New Salem-Almont; Brock Norton, New Salem-Almont; Daniel Schumacher, South Border; Trey Swenson, Beach; Kayedenn Rivinius, Grant County-Flasher; Cole Manolovits, Hettinger County; Brayton Baker, St. John; Jadance McCloud, St. John; Easton Andel, Westhope-N-G; Easton Eriksmoen, Divide County; Ethan Hanson, Surrey; Joel Holmen, Tioga

Miller has covered sports at the Grand Forks Herald since 2004 and was the state sportswriter of the year in 2019.

His primary beat is UND football but also reports on a variety of UND sports and local preps.

He can be reached at (701) 780-1121, or on Twitter at @tommillergf.
What To Read Next
Coleman and Bydal stay hot with three more points each, including two goals from Coleman.
Both teams now have one loss after splitting the regular-season series.
Todd Lucht spent nine days in regions in St. Paul and underwent two surgeries in that time.
Slukynsky and Pilgrim lead the way as Warriors flex their muscle in road win.