The North Dakota Game and Fish Department has completed its 2020 spring wild turkey lottery, and 433 licenses remain in seven units. Individual results are available on the Game and Fish Department website at

Game and Fish will issue remaining licenses on a first-come, first-served basis beginning 8 a.m. Central Time on Tuesday, March 17. Hunters are allowed a maximum of two licenses for the spring season.

Licenses remain in Unit 06, Bowman County; Unit 13, Dunn County; Unit 19, Grant and Sioux counties and portions of Morton County; Unit 25, McHenry County and portions of Pierce and Ward Counties; Unit 31, Mountrail County; Unit 45, Stark County; and Unit 51, Burke County and portions of Renville, Bottineau and Ward counties.

The Game and Fish Department will mail the spring turkey licenses to successful applicants after they purchase a valid 2020-21 hunting license. All spring turkey hunters regardless of age are required to have a general game and habitat license in addition to their spring turkey license. Hunters age 16 and older also must have a small game license or a combination license.

The 2020-21 licenses are available for purchase beginning Sunday, March 15. Spring turkey hunters are encouraged to purchase their other necessary licenses well in advance so their turkey tag arrives before the season opener on Saturday, April 11.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Submit applications on the Game and Fish website at Only North Dakota residents are eligible to apply.