On this day in UND hockey: Matt Frattin scores 2 OT goal to win the Broadmoor Trophy

Frattin scores winning goal in Final Five title game
North Dakota's Matt Frattin, lower left, scores the winning goal against Denver's Sam Brittain (1) in the second overtime to win the WCHA Final Five Championship hockey game Saturday, March 19, 2011 in St. Paul, Minn. (AP Photo/Jim Mone)

Note: With no playoff hockey this season due to the coronavirus outbreak, the Herald is looking back at memorable moments from UND's past playoff runs on each date. On March 19, 2011, UND beat Denver 3-2 in double overtime to win the WCHA Final Five.

UND and Denver stood on opposite blue lines awaiting the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Final Five award presentation, while the Xcel Energy Center crowd let out a thunderous chant.

"Ho-bey, Ba-ker! Ho-bey, Ba-ker!"

It was an unforgettable scene after Matt Frattin -- who else? -- buried a double overtime goal to beat Denver 3-2 in the championship game, giving UND a second-straight Broadmoor Trophy.

It was the 35th goal of the season for Frattin, and the heavily partisan UND crowd knew who it felt was the best player in the nation.


On the winning goal, Evan Trupp carried the puck from UND's defensive zone, through the neutral zone and deep into the offensive zone. He left a drop pass for Chay Genoway, who one-timed a puck toward the net. It hit traffic and bounced to Frattin, who buried it.

"Bottom line, we got a bounce and that bounce happened to land on the right guy's stick," UND coach Dave Hakstol said afterward.

Frattin ended up scoring 36 goals that season. Since 2006-07, no player in college hockey has scored more goals than Frattin (Colgate's Austin Smith and Boston College's Johnny Gaudreau matched that number).

Frattin did not end up winning the Hobey that year. It went to Miami's Andy Miele.

From 2003-12, UND and Denver met in an astounding 11 times in the playoffs.

UND won the last four -- the 2012 Final Five championship, the 2011 NCAA regional final, the 2011 Final Five championship and the 2010 Final Five semifinals. Denver won the previous four -- the 2008 Final Five semifinals, the 2005 NCAA national championship game, the 2005 Final Five semifinals and the 2004 NCAA regional final.


In 2003, UND won an epic, best-of-three playoff series, where the Pioneers won Game 1 and UND won Games 2 and 3 in overtime on winners by Brandon Bochenski and Nick Fuher.

UND 3, Denver 2, 2 OT

First period -- 1. DU, Dustin Jackson 5 (Kyle Ostrow, Anthony Maiani) 5:06

Second period -- 2. UND, Danny Kristo 7 (Taylor Dickin, Derrick LaPoint) 2:32; 3. UND, Brent Davidson 5 (Kristo, LaPoint) 8:18

Third period -- 4. DU, Maiani 8 (Beau Bennett, Matt Donovan) 17:47

First overtime -- No scoring

Second overtime -- 5. UND, Matt Frattin 35 (Chay Genoway, Evan Trupp) 5:11

Goalie saves -- UND: Aaron Dell 40; DU: Sam Brittain 33

Power plays -- UND 0-4, DU 0-6


Referees -- Derek Shepard and Marco Hunt

Schlossman has covered college hockey for the Grand Forks Herald since 2005. He has been recognized by the Associated Press Sports Editors as the top beat writer for the Herald's circulation division four times and the North Dakota sportswriter of the year once. He resides in Grand Forks. Reach him at
What To Read Next
Get Local