Grand Forks Central seniors Braden Panzer, Joey Kennelly and Chase Spicer all played on the same line this season.

All three scored more than 60 points.

And now, all three are all-state performers.

The trio was part of Grand Forks Central's four selections to lead the way on the North Dakota all-state boys hockey team, which is selected by the state's coaches and was released Wednesday.

Panzer scored 27 goals and had 39 assists for 66 points. Spicer had 24 goals and 38 assists for 62 points. Kennelly had 28 goals and 34 assists for 62 points.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Spicer had seven goals in the state tournament, including the game-winning goal against Red River late in the first overtime of the state championship game.

Central's other all-state choice was junior defenseman Dillon Kuntz, who was the East Region's leading defensive scorer with three goals and 19 assists.

State runner-up Red River placed a pair of defensemen on the all-state team in junior Wyatt LeDuc and senior Matt Scribner. LeDuc had five goals and 15 assists to finish fourth on the team in scoring, while Scribner was sixth on the team in scoring with four goals and 11 assists.

Central's Grant Paranica was named the state's coach of the year, while Fargo South/Shanley goalie Zach Sandy was named Mr. Hockey.

Grafton-Park River sophomore Landon Carter also received all-state honors. Carter, who was a second team all-state pick for the Cavalier football team in the fall, finished 12th in the state in scoring with 18 goals and 12 assists.

N.D. all-state

Goalies -- Peyton Buchholz, West Fargo Sheyenne; Zach Sandy, Fargo South/Shanley; Tre Sortland, Minot

Defensemen -- Cullen Curl, Bismarck Century; Jackson Ekblad, Williston; Dillon Kuntz, GF Central; Wyatt LeDuc, GF Red RIver; Cooner McLachian, Jamestown; Riley Opperude, Minot; Caleb Roehrich, West Fargo; Matt Scribner, GF Red River; Jack Steckler, Bismarck High

Forwards -- Owen Martz, Fargo North; Landon Carter, Grafton-Park River; Ashton Collings, Williston; Brayden Jacobson, West Fargo; Joey Kennelly, GF Central; Aiden Morelli, Minot; Nolan Nenow, Jamestown; Braden Panzer, GF Central; Colton Schulte, Bismarck Century; Chase Spicer, GF Central; Jace Thompson, Jamestown

Coach of the Year -- Grant Paranica, GF Central

Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year -- Zach Sandy, Fargo South/Shanley