Dean Blais is headed to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

The longtime UND coach was announced as one of four members of the 2020 U.S. Hall of Fame class Monday night along with Tony Granato, Jenny Potter and Jerry York.

They will be formally enshrined in U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, which is located in Eveleth, Minn., in December 2021.

"The class of 2020 is an extraordinary group whose remarkable contributions to our game will be felt for generations to come," USA Hockey president Jim Smith said. "As fans, we've had the great pleasure of watching them play or guide teams to championships at all levels of the game. We are thrilled to welcome Dean, Tony, Jenny and Jerry to the list of immortals who have so positively impacted our sport."

Blais is most well known for his success at UND, where he spent 10 seasons as a head coach and nine as an assistant.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

He won NCAA national championships as an assistant coach in 1982 and 1987 alongside head coach Gino Gasparini, then led UND to two more as a head coach in 1997 and 2000.

Blais won the Spencer Penrose Award as the national coach of the year twice (1997, 2001).

His success extended beyond the ice.

At three of his last stops, he also helped get new arenas built.

He did it first at UND in 2001, when Ralph Engelstad Arena was constructed.

He became the first head coach and general manager of the Fargo Force in the United States Hockey League. Scheels Arena was constructed while he was there.

Blais later became the head coach at Nebraska Omaha. During his time there, Omaha built Baxter Arena. Blais also led Omaha to its first Frozen Four in program history.

On the international scene, Blais led the U.S. World Junior Championship team to a gold medal at the 2010 event. It marked the first time the U.S. ever won gold in a World Juniors held in Canada.

Blais, who played college hockey at Minnesota and also spent a couple of years with the Columbus Blue Jackets in the NHL, was inducted into the UND Athletics Hall of Fame in 2018.