Weather Forecast


The quick rundown: UND 1, BSU 1, tie

UND 1, Bemidji State 1, tie

The story: UND scored 2:31 into the game but couldn't extend the lead and it came back to haunt the Fighting Hawks when Charlie Combs scored with just 4:14 to go in the third period to tie it 1-1. UND mustered just two goals on 56 shots in the series against the Beavers.

Three stars: 1. Charlie Combs, BSU, game-tying goal; 2. Zach Driscoll, BSU, 26 saves; 3. Grant Mismash, UND, goal.

Lineup notes: UND juggled all four lines as it gave its rookies a more prominent role -- Jasper Weatherby centered an offensive line. Gavin Hain was moved up to play with Nick Jones and Grant Mismash. Jonny Tychonick and Mark Senden were inserted into the lineup and Adam Scheel started in net. One night after Henry Johnson stopped 28 of 29 shots to give Bemidji State the win, he was scratched. Bemidji State started St. Cloud State transfer Zach Driscoll in net and used Jack Burgart as the backup.

Updated records: UND 0-1-0, Bemidji State 1-0-0.

Up next: MSU-Mankato at UND, 7:37 p.m. Friday, Ralph Engelstad Arena.


First period -- 1. UND, Grant Mismash 1 (Nick Jones 2, Gavin Hain 1) 2:31

Second period -- No scoring.

Third period -- 2. BSU, Charlie Combs 1 (Brendan Harris 2) 15:46

Overtime -- No scoring.

Penalties -- Mismash, UND, cross-checking, 14:17 first; Dillon Eichstadt, BSU, delay of game, 7:31 second; Dan Billet, BSU, hooking, 13:03 second; Justin Baudry, BSU, charging, 5:20 third; Hampus Sjodahl, BSU, hooking, 2:05, OT; Joel Janatuinen, UND, roughing, 3:42, OT; Baudry, BSU, roughing, 3:42, OT

Goalie saves -- UND: Adam Scheel 4-3-5-x -- xx; Zach Driscoll 4-7-9-x -- xx

Penalties-minutes -- UND 2-4, BSU 5-10

Power plays -- UND 0-4, BSU 0-1

Attendance -- 11,847

Referees -- Dan Dreger and Nick Krebsbach (NCHC)

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 14th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129