Weather Forecast


The quick rundown: UND 4, Omaha 0

UND 4, Omaha 0

The story: For the 12th-straight year, UND opened up its first-round playoff series by winning Game 1. The Fighting Hawks moved within one win of a 16th-straight trip to the Twin Cities by toppling Omaha behind a three-goal second period. Shane Gersich scored in the first period and Christian Wolanin, Nick Jones and Joel Janatuinen added second-period goals. The winner of the best-of-three series will play in the NCHC Frozen Faceoff in St. Paul's Xcel Energy Center.

Three stars: 1. Colton Poolman, UND, two assists; 2. Christian Wolanin, UND, goal; 3. Cam Johnson, UND, 25 saves.

Did you notice: Cam Johnson has shut out Omaha in back-to-back games. He blanked the Mavericks 20 days earlier in Baxter Arena.

Lineup notes: UND used a nearly identical lineup as last Saturday's tie against league-leading St. Cloud State. The only change was using Andrew Peski on defense in place of Josh Rieger. UND's health scratches also included Zach Yon, Collin Adams and Ludvig Hoff.

Updated records: UND 15-12-10, Omaha 17-16-2.

Up next: Game 2 of the best-of-three series is at 7:08 p.m. Saturday in Ralph Engelstad Arena.


First period -- 1. UND, Shane Gersich 12 (Austin Poganski 8, Colton Poolman 17) 13:52. Penalties -- Zach Jordan, OMA, slashing, 19:53

Second period -- 2. UND, Christian Wolanin 12 (Rhett Gardner 13, Poolman 18) 1:00 (pp); 3. UND, Nick Jones 12 (Hayden Shaw 9) 12:39; 4. UND, Joel Janatuinen 16:39. Penalties -- Gabe Bast, UND, slashing, 1:30; Zach Jordan, OMA, goaltender interference, 6:41

Third period -- No scoring. Penalties -- Luke Nogard, OMA, cross-checking, 6:20; Gardner, UND, kneeing, 10:29; Tristan Keck, OMA, boarding, 14:33

Goalie saves -- UND: Cam Johnson 6-11-8 -- 25; OMA: Evan Weninger 10-11-9 -- 30

Penalties-minutes -- UND 2-4, OMA 4-8

Power plays -- UND 1-4, OMA 0-2

Attendance -- 10,125

Referees -- Geno Binda and Nick Krebsbach

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 13th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129