Weather Forecast


U.S. wins gold at Women's World Championship

The U.S. Women's National Hockey Team threatened to boycott the IIHF Women's World Championship unless it could reach an agreement with USA Hockey on better funding and more support for their team.

USA Hockey did its part and reached an agreement with the team.

And the players did their part by bringing home a gold medal with a dramatic 3-2 overtime victory over rival Canada in front of a partisan, sold-out home crowd in Plymouth, Mich.

Hilary Knight scored the game-winning goal at 10:17 of overtime, hammering a Kendall Coyne feed past Canadian goalie Shannon Szabados from the left circle.

Defenseman Kacey Bellamy scored the other two goals as the Americans successfully defended their gold medal in the event.

Grand Forks natives Jocelyne and Monique Lamoureux won their sixth gold medal in the Worlds. Warroad's Gigi Marvin won her fifth gold at the Worlds.

Monique, who had six points in five games in the event, was named to the all-tournament all-star team.

It was the final World Championship before the 2018 Winter Olympics, which will be held in South Korea.

The U.S. has won six of the last seven golds medals at Worlds, but it's the first time the Americans have ever won it on home soil.

When the U.S. hosted the event in 1994 in Lake Placid, N.Y., in 2001 in Minneapolis and in 2012 in Burlington, Vt., Canada beat the Americans in the final.

There was a lot of question whether the U.S. would even have its top players for the game after they threatened to boycott the event.

But USA Hockey and the Women's National Team came to an agreement just three days before the tournament. The U.S. team canceled its training camp, but it didn't matter.

The Americans were a perfect 5-0 in the event with two wins over Canada and one each over Germany, Finland and Russia.

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 13th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129