Weather Forecast


U.S., Canada win in semis to set up showdown for gold at Worlds

There may have been several upsets earlier in the tournament, but there's no surprise in the two teams who will play for the gold medal at the IIHF Women's World Championship.

The U.S. routed Germany 11-0 and Canada beat Finland 4-0 during Thursday's semifinals, setting up a showdown between the top two teams in the world.

The Americans and Canadians will face off for gold at 6:35 p.m. tonight in Plymouth, Mich.

Germany and Finland will play for the bronze earlier in the day.

Monique Lamoureux-Morando scored a goal and had two assists, while Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson had a goal in Team USA's blowout semifinal win over Germany, which has clinched its best-ever finish in the tournament.

Kendall Coyne (two goals, assist), Megan Keller (goal, two assists), Kelli Stack (goal, two assists), Hilary Knight (goal, two assists), Amanda Kessel (three assists) and Brianna Decker (three assists) also had three-point games.

Monique is the tournament's leading defenseman scorer with six points in four games. Jocelyne is second in the event in goals with four in four games.

The Lamoureux twins, Grand Forks natives and former UND stars, are going for their sixth gold medal in the World Championship. They previously won gold in 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2016.

They'll be taking on UND senior defenseman Halli Krzyzaniak, who has won a silver medal with Team Canada at Worlds.

The twins also are climbing in the record book at Worlds.

Jocelyne is one point shy of joining Monique in the top 10 all-time in points by an American player at the tournament.

This tournament is the final World Championship before the 2018 Olympic Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 13th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129