The Cavalier football program reached the North Dakota 9-man state championship game for the third year in a row this season, as the Tornadoes finished runner-up for the third consecutive season.

That strong season was reflected in the North Dakota 9-man all-state team, which was released Monday by the North Dakota High School Coaches Association.

Cavalier landed five on the team to lead area programs. Wide receiver Landon Carter and offensive lineman Demetrius Avila were first-team offensive selections, while linebacker Trevor Hinkle was a first-team defensive pick.

Brysen Cleem and Jacob Steele received second-team honors.

Carter and Steele are repeat all-state picks.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Avila, a 5-foot-7, 175-pound senior center, anchored an offensive line that allowed the Tornadoes to run for 196 yards per game. On defense, Avila had 96 tackles and three sacks. He had three fumble recoveries including one returned for a touchdown.

Carter, a 5-10 junior, had 27 catches for 521 yards and 14 touchdowns. He had 19.3 yards per catch. Carter also ran for 139 yards and two touchdowns, while picking off three passes defensively.

Hinkle, a 5-8 senior, racked up 162 tackles, four interceptions and three defensive touchdowns. On offense, he ran 104 times for 563 yards and eight touchdowns. Through the air, he caught 27 passes for 425 yards and six scores.

Steele, a 6-1 junior, led Cavalier defensively with 170 tackles and added 8.0 tackles for loss. On offense Steele carried 132 times for 596 yards and six touchdowns.

Cleem, a 6-3 quarterback-safety, was 79-for-129 passing for 1,246 yards. He had 24 touchdowns to seven interceptions. In addition to his 113 passing yards per game, Cleem ran 96 times for 697 yards and eight touchdowns. He also picked off two passes as a defensive back.

Other area selections:

Jayton Slater, St. John: The senior was a first-team offensive lineman. He led an offense that rushed for more than 2,000 yards and achieved 5.7 yards per carry for the 6-4 Woodchucks.

Garrett Haakenson, Nelson County: The first-team all-state defensive pick at linebacker totaled 72 tackles and 18.0 tackles for loss. The 5-foot-9, 170-pound senior also added three interceptions and returned one for a touchdown. On offense, Haakenson ran for 818 yards on 7.2 yards per carry with 12 rushing scores. In the passing game, Haakenson had 434 receiving yards (22.8 yards per catch) and had six receiving touchdowns.

Kelby Azure, Hatton-Northwood: The 6-4, 240-pound senior, who has committed to North Dakota State, is named to the second team after playing all over the field for the Thunder -- from the line to fullback to wide receiver to linebacker to punter. He finished the year with 41 solo tackles, 59 assisted tackles, 10 tackles for loss, one sack, two fumble recoveries and an interception. On offense, Azure had 20 catches for 212 yards and three touchdowns. He also had 44 rushes for 161 yards and three touchdowns.

Ethan Bergstrom, Mayville-P-C-G: The 5-9 junior was named to the second team as he finished with 126 carries for 1,033 yards and 17 touchdowns. He added 17 grabs for 231 yards and two touchdowns. On defense, he had 52 solo tackles, 225 assisted tackles, 4.0 tackles for loss, two fumble recoveries and one interception.

Ross Thompson, Nelson County: The 6-3, 195-pound sophomore's play on the offensive and defensive line earned second-team honors. On defense, Thompson had 42 tackles, 10 sacks, 17.0 tackles for loss and four forced fumbles.

Caden Belgarde, St. John: The junior offensive lineman-defensive lineman had 85 total tackles and 12.5 sacks.

Class 9B

First team offense

QB -- Corban Potts, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion; Tucker Schneider, Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter; Jace Friesz, Grant County; OL -- Demetrius Avila, Cavalier; Jayton Slater, St. John; AJ Heins, New Salem-Almont; RB -- Brady Lettenmaier, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion; Chris Jenner, Surrey; TE-- Colton Ness, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion; WR -- Landon Carter, Cavalier; Dylan Rud, New Salem-Almont; Jace Nelson, Ray-Powers Lake

First team defense

DL -- Tate Jerdee, Wyndmere-Lidgerwood; Brock Wendel, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion; Ayden Amundson, Surrey; LB -- Garrett Hebl, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion; Trevor Hinkle, Cavalier; Garrett Haakenson, Nelson County; Trasen Pollman, Bottineau; Wyatt Caraballo, Divide County; DB -- Seth Wolf, South Border

Second team

Cruz Hernandez, Hankinson; Evan Richman, Enderlin-Maple Valley; Charlie Bowman, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion; Jacob Steele, Cavalier; Brysen Cleem, Cavalier; Kelby Azure, Hatton-Northwood; Ethan Bergstrom, Mayville-Portland-Clifford-Galesburg; Nick Berglund, New Rockford-Sheyenne; Dalen Leftbear, Four Winds; Ross Thompson, Nelson County; Micale Costa, Bottineau; Jacob Shriver, Bottineau; Caden Belgarde, St. John; Trenton Erbele, Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter; Ty Wolding, New Salem-Almont; Weston Kuhn, New Salem-Almont; James Schumacher, South Border; Connor Andress, Hettinger; Zack Jalbert, Mott-Regent; Nathan Kaufman, Mott-Regent; Cale Ibach, Lewis & Clark; Patrick Simons, Lewis & Clark; Brandon Alvarez, Surrey; Lane Caraballo, Divide County; Easton Eriksmoen, Divide County; Tyson Enget, Ray-Powers Lake

Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year -- Chris Jenner, Surrey

Coach of the Year -- Andy DelaBarre, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion