When the World Junior Championship opens Dec. 26 in the Czech Republic with a showdown between rivals U.S. and Canada, it could pit UND teammates against each other.

UND freshman forward Shane Pinto was named to Team USA's World Junior preliminary roster Monday afternoon. He will participate in a camp Dec. 16-17 in Plymouth, Mich., to determine the final roster.

Pinto is one of 28 players on the preliminary roster. The Americans will have to make five cuts before heading to Europe. Two of the cuts will likely come at forward.

UND sophomore defenseman Jacob Bernard-Docker was earlier named to Canada's preliminary roster. Bernard-Docker left for Canada's selection camp after UND's sweep of Western Michigan in Kalamazoo, Mich., Saturday night.

If both players make their team's final roster, it will mark the first time that UND teammates have played against each other in the World Juniors since January 2007, when Jonathan Toews (Canada) beat Taylor Chorney and Brian Lee (USA) in a semifinal game. Toews scored three shootout goals, including the winner. Toews and Canada eventually won gold. Chorney and Lee won bronze.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Pinto, of Franklin Square, N.Y., leads UND with eight goals and is third in points with 14 in 17 games.

Pinto ranks second in the nation in goals by a freshman, only behind Wisconsin's Cole Caufield (12), also a U.S. World Junior team pick.

Pinto is one of four current National Collegiate Hockey Conference players on the American team, which will be coached by former UND defenseman and current Minnesota Duluth head coach Scott Sandelin.

The others are Denver forward Bobby Brink, Western Michigan defenseman Mattias Samuelsson and Omaha goalie Isaiah Saville.

USA preliminary roster


Shane Pinto, North Dakota

John Beecher, Michigan

Bobby Brink, Denver

Cole Caufield, Wisconsin

Jack Drury, Harvard

Parker Ford, Providence

Jon Gruden, OHL (former Miami)

Curtis Hall, Yale

Trevor Janicke, Notre Dame

Arther Kaliyev, OHL

Robert Mastrosimone, Boston University

Jacob Pivonka, Notre Dame

Nick Robertson, OHL

Alex Turcotte, Wisconsin

Trevor Zegras, Boston University


Ty Emberson, Wisconsin

Jordan Harris, Northeastern

Ryan Johnson, Minnesota

Zac Jones, UMass

Christian Krygier, Michigan State

K'Andre Miller, Wisconsin

Alec Regula, OHL

Mattias Sameulsson, Western Michigan

Spencer Stastney, Notre Dame

Cam York, Michigan


Spencer Knight, Boston College

Isaiah Saville, Omaha

Dustin Wolf, WHL