Weather Forecast


Body found in back of pickup near downtown Grand Forks

Goodridge, Minn., native Tucker Hibbert finalist for an ESPY award

Minnesotan Tucker Hibbert is widely considered one of the most dominant athletes in X Games history. ÒI feel like I'm pretty much ready for anything,Ó Hibbert said during a recent training break at a practice track in Fertile, Minn. (Ann Arbor Miller for MPR)

It’s a few months before the next snocross season begins, but Tucker Hibbert — one of the more decorated riders in the sport’s history — has another opportunity to take home a win.

The Goodridge, Minn., native recently received his second ESPY Award nomination in the Best Action Sports Athlete category.

The ESPY (Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly) awards will be announced live on ESPN on July 16.

“I didn’t see this coming but couldn’t be more excited,” said Hibbert, who now lives in Pelican Rapids, Minn. “To step back and think about how many talented action sports athletes there are worldwide, then realize that you’re one of five selected for this award is incredible.

“When I was first nominated in 2011, I didn’t fully understand the scope of the honor. Now, I get it. It’d be a huge honor to be the first snowmobile athlete to win an ESPY.”

In the past few seasons, Hibbert has established himself as the top snocross rider in the country.

Last season, his 14th in snocross, Hibbert recorded the most successful year of his career.

In January, he eclipsed Blair Morgan’s long-standing snocross pro national win record to become the winningest racer in the sport.

Later in the month, Hibbert became the first athlete in history to win seven consecutive gold medals at the ESPN X Games Aspen.

He now holds 95 pro national victories, two world championships, eight national championships and 12 X Games medals.

Others nominated for the ESPY in the best action sport category include surfer Grant Baker, skateboarder Nyjah Huston, supercross champion Ryan Villopoto and Olympic free skier David Wise.

All five were selected by a panel of judges.

Through online and mobile voting, fans will decide who will take home the ESPY award.

To vote online for the sports action figure, the address is:; and for general voting, the online address is