The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources on Tuesday said it is removing fire restrictions in 14 northern counties as favorable weather diminishes wildfire risk.

Beginning 12:01 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 15, burning restrictions will be lifted in Beltrami, Becker, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Ottertail, St. Louis, Roseau and Wadena counties.

However, the wildfire risk remains in the northeastern tip of Minnesota, where Class III burning restrictions remain in effect for Cook and Lake counties. Under Class III restrictions:

  • No campfires are allowed for dispersed, remote or backcountry camping on all state, county or private lands. Camping stoves are permitted.

  • Attended campfires in established fire rings associated with a home, cabin, campground or resort are allowed.

  • No fireworks may be ignited on any public or private land outside city limits. People should check with their local community for any additional restrictions.

  • Open burning permits are restricted.

  • An Area of Closure around the Greenwood Fire remains in place and is not affected by the updated burning restrictions.

“These changes reflect reduced wildfire risks for much of the north, while also recognizing that wildfire danger remains high in Cook and Lake counties,” Allissa Reynolds, DNR acting wildfire prevention supervisor, said in a statement. “Until we have a few inches of snow on the ground, we all need to continue our efforts to reduce wildfires; fires can start easily in dry grass and leaves.”

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Forrest Boe, director of the DNR’s Forestry Division, said the public’s help in following wildfire restrictions is appreciated.

“Everyone’s efforts to prevent wildfires are helping,” Boe said. “Thank you and let’s keep it up through the fall.”

The DNR will continue to monitor conditions and adjust county-specific burning restrictions as necessary. The DNR wildland fire information webpage includes information on all restrictions and a list of affected state forests and parks.