Three Grand Forks students received top awards for their entries in the 2018-19 North Dakota Juried Student Art Show, sponsored by the Taube Museum of Art in Minot.

Each spring, North Dakota students submit artwork for the competition. This year, 676 entries were submitted by students in kindergarten through grade 12.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Grant Hoffarth, who attends South Middle School, was among three students to receive the Governor's Award. His work will be displayed in the governor's office in Bismarck.

Samantha Martens, Red River High School, was among five students who earned a Congressional Art Award, sponsored by U.S. Sen. Kevin Cramer, R-N.D. Her artwork, representing North Dakota, will hang in the Washington, D.C., corridor of the U.S. Capitol, where senators' and representatives' offices are located. A piece of artwork from one student in each state is exhibited there.

Erika Tinjum, Grand Forks Central High School, was selected as one of four State of the Arts award winners. Her art will be displayed in one of Cramer's North Dakota offices.

Another 100 entries that received awards in numerous categories will comprise a traveling exhibit that will be displayed in Cando, Grand Forks, Williston, Dickinson, Mayville and Kindred and at the North Dakota State Fair this summer in Minot.

Artwork by Mekenna Erickson, Grand Forks Central, was selected as a Taube Museum of Art award winner.

People's Choice Award winners include Taylor Schuman, Grand Forks Central; Lukas Heydt and Avery Whiteside, Elroy Schroeder Middle School; and Braden Huseby, South Middle School.

The following students, in grades 9-12, were named Traveling Award winners: Hala Aboufakher, Yassmine El-Rewini, Morgan Haga, Alex Hrabchak, Zoie Krump and Victoria Scheierl, all of Red River High School; and Camlyn Bakke, Keely Davidson, Mekenna Erickson, Amelia Foltz, Jessica Francois, Lowell Miller and Kendra Nordick, all of Grand Forks Central High School.

The following students, in grades 7 and 8, received Traveling Awards: Marie Derenne, Allie Foltz, Quinn Olson and Mackenzie Spoor, all of Valley Middle School, and Natalia Tchomakhidze, South Middle School.

Bryn Larson, Elroy Schroeder Middle School, was named a Traveling Award winner in the category for grades kindergarten through 6.