Weather Forecast


Five Grand Forks County Commission candidates advance

Bob Rost.1 / 5
Jeffrey Powell2 / 5
Kyle Kvamme3 / 5
Tom Falck4 / 5
Diane Knauf5 / 5

All five candidates for Grand Forks County Commission will advance to November's general election. Candidates for the commission include Bob Rost, Jeffrey Powell, Kyle Kvamme and incumbents Diane Knauf and Tom Falk.

Three of the five candidates will be elected in November and will serve four-year terms beginning Dec. 1.

According to preliminary results from 27 of Grand Forks County's 27 precincts, Rost received a majority of the votes with 31 percent of the vote. Knauf followed with nearly 26 percent. Falck rounded out the top three with nearly 18 percent of the vote. Powell and Kvamme took 11 and 13 percent, respectively.

Rost has served as the Grand Forks County sheriff since 2010, holds an associate degree in criminal justice and police administration and is a graduate of the FBI National Academy.

Knauf, an incumbent, has served on the County Commission for 12 years.

Powell holds a doctorate in educational leadership from the University of Northern Colorado, a master's in educational administration from the University of Tennessee and a bachelor's in economics from the University of Oklahoma. He works as the director of student life at Mayville State University.

Kvamme holds a Bachelor of Science in interdisciplinary studies from the University of Houston.

Falck, an incumbent on the County Commission, holds a bachelor's degree and a Juris Doctor from UND. He served as the Grand Forks County deputy state's attorney before retiring.

Grand Forks county commissioners are paid $18,369 per year.