Weather Forecast


Christian Wolanin, Colton Poolman earn all-NCHC nods

UND’s top defensive pairing of Christian Wolanin and Colton Poolman were recognized on all-National Collegiate Hockey Conference teams Wednesday.

Wolanin was named all-NCHC second team and Poolman was named all-NCHC honorable mention.

Wolanin is bidding to become the first defenseman to lead UND in scoring since James Patrick in 1982-83. The junior from Rochester, Mich., has 11 goals and 32 points.

Poolman, who graduated from East Grand Forks Senior High, has seven goals and 23 points. He also has a team-best plus-10 rating.

UND hosts Omaha in a best-of-three, first-round NCHC playoff series this weekend at 7:38 p.m. Friday, 7:08 p.m. Saturday and, if necessary, 7:08 p.m. Sunday in Ralph Engelstad Arena.

All-NCHC first team

F: Henrik Borgström, So., Denver – 21 points (7 first-place votes) - unanimous

F: Nick Halloran, So., Colorado College – 19 (6)

F: David Pope, Sr., Omaha – 17 (5)

D: Jimmy Schuldt, Jr., St. Cloud State – 19 (6)

D: Scott Perunovich, Fr., Minnesota Duluth – 16 (5)

G: Tanner Jaillet, Sr., Denver – 13 (4)

All-NCHC second team

F: Mikey Eyssimont, Jr., St. Cloud State – 11 (3)

F: Troy Terry, Jr., Denver – 9 (2)

F: Dylan Gambrell, Jr., Denver – 5 (1)

D: Christian Wolanin, Jr., North Dakota – 12 (3)

D: Louie Belpedio, Sr., Miami – 8 (1)

G: Hunter Shepard, So., Minnesota Duluth – 12 (3)

All-NCHC honorable mention

F: Wade Allison, So., Western Michigan – 4 (0)

F: Mason Bergh, Jr., Colorado College – 3 (0)

F: Dawson DiPietro, So., Western Michigan – 2 (0)

F: Robby Jackson, Jr., St. Cloud State – 2 (0)

D: Will Borgen, Jr., St. Cloud State – 4 (1)

D: Colton Poolman, So., North Dakota – 2 (0)

G: Dávid Hrenák, Fr., St. Cloud State – 7 (1)

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 14th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129