Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Herald captures numerous awards in North Dakota newspaper contest

CROSBY, N.D. -- The Herald newspaper received several major awards Friday during the 130th annual North Dakota Newspaper Association's convention in Crosby.


CROSBY, N.D. - The Herald newspaper received several major awards Friday during the 130th annual North Dakota Newspaper Association's convention in Crosby.

Herald staff won numerous individual awards, with Brad Schlossman, Sarah Volpenhein and Eric Hylden earning multiple first-place wins in editorial categories and Marsha Gunderson and Sue Lindlauf capturing multiple top finishes in advertising categories.

Reporter Becky Jacobs garnered two special awards for public notice journalism and as North Dakota's rookie reporter of the year.

RELATED:  Former Herald publisher Mike Jacobs inducted into North Dakota Newspaper Association Hall of Fame


Carly Endres, a teacher at Schroeder Middle School in Grand Forks for the past five years, was named Newspapers in Education Teacher of the Year. She was nominated by Lindlauf, the NIE coordinator at the Herald. Endres is a Grand Forks native with bachelor's and master's degrees from UND.

The Herald received a special award for First Amendment journalism for continuous efforts reporting on open records and meetings throughout 2015.

The newspaper also earned second place for general excellence.

The Herald competed in a category for daily newspapers that have a circulation of more than 12,000 subscriptions.

First-place winners from the Herald in editorial categories were:

Schlossman won three first place awards for sports reporting, sports feature and special news section. The award comes in the wake of Schlossman winning first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2015 contest for best beat writer in the 30,000-and-under circulation category.

Carli Greninger won for standing news front.

Korrie Wenzel took first for editorial.


Pamela Knudson won for feature series.

Volpenhein in the reporting and government series categories.

Hylden in the feature photo and pictorial photo categories.

Jesse Trelstad for sports photo.

The Herald staff won for best website.

Other Herald awards in editorial categories were:

Schlossman also took second in the sports page and third in both the sports series and sports column categories.

Wayne Nelson won second for sports column and third for sports reporting


Greg Devillers won second for sports reporting and third place for special news section.

Stephanie Proffer took second for front page design.

Tom Dennis and Janelle Vonasek combined to capture second for editorial page.

Vonasek earned second for standing news front and informational graphics.

Kevin Bonham won second for agricultural coverage.

The Herald staff won second in the spot news, sports page, sports series and overall design excellence categories while also earning third place for feature series.

Wade Rupard earned third place in the business news reporting and headline categories.

Trelstad also captured second for outdoor recreation photo and third for news photo.


Hylden also earned second place for spot news photo and third place for agricultural photo.

Brad Dokken earned third place for serious personal column and honorable mention in the feature reporting and headline categories.

Brandi Jewett won third place for humorous personal column.

Anna Burleson captured third place for reporting series.

Greninger also won third for informational graphics.

Tom Miller won third for sports feature.

Tom Dennis won third for editorial.

Charly Haley took third for government reporting.


Garrett Ritchie captured third for agricultural coverage.

John Hageman received honorable mention in the reporting and government reporting categories.

Volpenhein and Haley combined to earn honorable mention for reporting series.

Logan Werlinger earned honorable mention for picture story.

First-place winners from the Herald in advertising categories were:

Beth Bohlman, Gunderson, Kris Wolff and Lindlauf for promo of newspaper - readership.

Bianca Bina for agricultural ad.

Daniel Forberg and Tina Neil for home/gardening ad


Matt Purpur and Katie Hastings for entertainment/liquor ad

Ron Olson, Gunderson and Lindlauf for outdoors/sports ad.

Other Herald winners in advertising categories were:

Purpur and Neil won second in the ad series and health care ad categories.

Lindlauf and Gunderson combined to win second in the promo of community and promo of newspaper - advertising categories.

Forberg and Hastings won second for vehicle ad.

Forberg and Wolff took second for food ad.

Jason Rolland and the Herald creative team won second for special ad section.

Rolland and Hastings earned second for entertainment/liquor ad.

Roland and Wolff won second in the single ad category.

Purpur and Ron Olson captured second for vehicle ad.

Jennifer Ekberg and Julie Schempp earned second for home/gardening ad and honorable mention for vehicle ad.

Purpur, Anna Olson, Sara Praska and Hastings earned second for signature page.

Forberg and Neil won third for outdoors/sports ad.

Ekberg and Neil earned honorable mention for ad series.

Lisa Hams and the Herald creative team won third place for signature page.

Purpur and Schempp earned third for food ad.

Praska and Hastings took third for use of color.

What To Read Next
Get Local