Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



ELECTION 2010: County, city races abound in NW Minnesota

Several county election races are on tap in northwestern Minnesota in the Nov. 2 election, as well as some sheriff and city races. Here is a list: Clearwater County _ County Commission: District 1: Incumbent Duane Hayes and challenger Sid Michel ...

Election 2010

Several county election races are on tap in northwestern Minnesota in the Nov. 2 election, as well as some sheriff and city races. Here is a list:

Clearwater County

_ County Commission: District 1: Incumbent Duane Hayes and challenger Sid Michel will face off for the lone seat.

_ County attorney: Incumbent Jeanine Brand is being challenged by Richard Mollin.

Kittson County


_ Township supervisors: All but three townships in the county are voting on a measure to extend the terms of township supervisors from four to six years.

_ City of Donaldson: City Council (2 positions): Incumbents Lonnie Thompson and James Olson are being challenged by Kevin Albrecht.

_ City of Kennedy: City Council (2 positions): Incumbents Paul Larson and Mary Ryden are being challenged by Jon Pietruszewski and Kevin Hanson.

_ City of Lake Bronson: Mayor: Bobby Schmiedeberg and Patricia Nerguson are vying to succeed Cammie Taylor, who is not running for re-election. City Council, (2 seats): Jim Erickson and Sandy Olson are challenging incumbents Jimann Cozzen and Joyce Storeby. City council, 2-year position: Darlene Brown and Greg Sandahl are seeking the seat.

Lake of the Woods County

_ County Commission: District 1: Incumbent, Todd Beckel; Ruth Rizzi. District 3: Incumbent Ken Moorman is being challenged by George Swentik.

_ County treasurer: Candidates are Mark Hall and Janet Schroeder.

_ County attorney: Candidates are Philip Miller and Roger Gilmer.


_ City of Baudette: Mayor: Candidates are Rick Rone and Gene Mortenson. City Council (2): Candidates are Greg Johnson, Donald McKay and Joel Hanson.

Mahnomen County

_ Sheriff: Incumbent Douglas Krier is being challenged by former Sheriff Brad Athmann. It's a repeat of the 2006 election, in which Krier defeated Athmann.

Marshall County

_ County auditor-treasurer: Incumbent, Scott Peters is facing a challenge from Shelly Staebler.

_ Sheriff: Incumbent Sheriff John Novacek is being challenged by Ben Kuznia.

_ City of Middle River: Voters will decide whether liquor may be sold on Sundays.

_ City of Oslo: Mayor Florence Elden is being challenged by City Council Member Scott Kosmatka.


_ City of Warren: Mayor: Deb Myrfield, who was appointed mayor last year, is being challenged by Linda Short.

Norman County

_ County attorney: Rebecca Trapp and Susan Nelson, both of Ada, are vying to replace Tom Ophein, who is not seeking re-election.

_ City of Ada: City Council (3 positions): Candidates are Cindy Peterson, Susen Miller, Kathy Kohoutek, Edwin Fink, Ken Kesselberg, Myron Moteberg, Brenda Dahl, Rodney Erickson, James Austinson and Trever Nitschke.

_ City of Halstad: Mayor: Candidates are Kelly Scholl and Steve Sortland. City Council (1 position): Shane Carlson and Lori Delong.

_ City of Shelly: Mayor: Candidates are Ron Cakebread, Theresa Carrillo and Jeff Neil. City Council (2 positions): Candidates are Chad Culp, James Dunkin, Todd Siemieniewski, Todd Swalstad, Charles Bernardson, Tom Keeney Jr. and Tom Keeney Sr. City Council (2 unexpired terms): Candidates are Justin Brasel, Gene Dybing and Randy Johnson.

_ City of Twin Valley: Mayor: Candidates are Danny Buckle and Michael Heinonen. City Council (2 positions): Candidates are Blaid Halverson, Joel Pearson, Bill Pagel and Ben Fall. Measure: Shall the clerk-treasurer position be appointed?

Pennington County


_ County Commission: District 3: Neil Peterson and Ray Ulrich are seeking the four-year term._

_ City of Thief River Falls: Mayor: Incumbent Steve "Beaver" Nordhagen; Jerry Unruh, Ward 4: Emery Lee, incumbent, is being challenged by Joseph Joseph "Yose" Haj. Council at large: Elvera Cullen, incumbent, is being challenged by Gerald Brown and Dennis Seaverson.

Polk County

_ County Commission: District 4: Incumbent Warren Affeldt, Fosston, is being challenged by Bruce Haaven, currently the mayor of McIntosh, Minn.

_ Sheriff: Barb Erdman and Jim Juve are on the ballot.

_ City of Crookston: Three candidates are seeking one at-large seat on Crookston City Council. They are: Trent Brekken; Bob Quanrud; and Jay Amiot.

_ City of Erskine: Doug Planten is challenging incumbent City Council members Joyce Burns and Marc Plante. The top two vote-getters win the seats.

Red Lake County


_ Auditor: Incumbent Bob Schmitz is being challenged by Mindy Helle. Both are from Red Lake Falls. Schmitz has been in office for 16 years.

Roseau County

_ County Commission: District 1: Newcomers Glenda Phillipe and Scott Johnson are vying for the seat. Incumbent Alan Johnston was defeated in the August Primary Election.

_ Auditor: Candidates are Martie Monsrud and John Huss. Both currently serve as deputy auditors.

_ Sheriff: Steven Gust and Curtis Hauger are vying for the position being vacated by Jule Hanson.

_ City of Greenbush: Mayor: Candidates are Scott Waage and Adrian "A.J." Pulczinski. City Council (2): Candidates are Brenda Sather, Dwight Hasson and Lavern Emery.

_ City of Roseau: City Council (2): Candidates are Linda Vatnsdal, Curt Ireland and George Bjerk.

What To Read Next
Get Local