School district voters cast ballots in area North Dakota elections

vote voting election
File photo of "I voted" stickers. Carrie Snyder / Forum News Service

Voters in school districts across North Dakota voted to elect representatives to their school boards this month.

Here is a look at some of the elections, many of which are unofficial until the school board meets to canvas them:

Carrington: Incumbent Joel Lemer, 116 votes, defeated Randy Hooey, 35 votes, for a three-year term.

Cavalier (unofficial results): Incumbent Justin Krieg, running unopposed for the rural seat, received 501 votes.

Rachel Ramsay, 328 votes, defeated Josh Thorpe, 185 votes, and Caralee Newman, 37 votes for the city seat. Incumbent Lynelle Fraser did not run for the seat.


Voters narrowly defeated a proposed referendum to approve $10.9 million G.O. bonds for a school project. There were 358 yes votes (56%) and 277 no votes (44%). A 60% majority was needed to pass.

A vote to increase the school district debt limit to 10 percent passed with 326 (51%) yes votes and 305 (49%) no votes. A 50% majority was needed to pass.

Central Valley: Incumbents Greg Troftgruben, David Knudsvig and Ronald Sondrol, with 13 votes each, were re-elected.

Devils Lake: Christine Cichos, 82 votes, defeated, Catherine Benton, 71 votes, Britton Lagasse, 56 votes, Travis Sainsbury, 47 votes, and Andrew Schneider, 41 votes, for a three-year term.

Dunseith: Incumbents Francis Amyotte and Clarence Counts were re-elected and Roger Counts was elected.

Fnley-Sharon: Julie Hanson was elected to the school board.

Grafton (unofficial results): Incumbent Barry Kingsbury was re-elected for the rural seat and Maggie Suda was elected for the at-large seat previously held by Greg Feltman, who did not seek re-election.

Hatton: Incumbent Toby Handly, 26 votes, was unopposed for re-election.


Hillsboro: Incumbent Tim Kozojed, 28 votes, was re-elected.

Langdon Area (unofficial): Incumbents Cindy Stremick and Steve Olson were unopposed for re-election. Tyler Feist was unopposed for the seat held previously by Nicole Koons, who did not run for re-election.

Larimore (unofficial): Incumbent Todd Yahna, 177 votes, was unopposed for re-election to a three-year term. Wanda Asperheim, 132 votes, defeated Sherry Amundson Norman, 73 votes, for election to a three-year term. Incumbent Joe Reinhold did not run for re-election for that seat.

Leeds (unofficial): Incumbent Tyson Tollman was re-elected to a three-year term. Write-in candidates Eric Hagenseon and Brandi Anderson were elected to the region three seat for a three-year term.

Manvel (unofficial): Incumbents Jennifer Harrison and Diana Hoverson, each with 15 votes, were re-elected.

May-Port (unofficial): Mitchell Krueger, 52 votes, defeated Jeni Peterson, 48 votes, for the city of Mayville three-year term.

Marlana Strand, 94 votes, was elected to the city of Portland seat.

Jeff Hovde, 96 votes, was re-elected to the rural Portland Viiking, Enger, Golden Lake, Primrose and Sherbrook townships seat.


Midway: Incumbents Brad Becker and Kelly Snobeck were re-elected.

Minto (unofficial): Jason Flanders, 83 votes, was elected for the areas of Highway 81, outside of the city limits seat.

Trevor Slominski, 51 votes, defeated Allen Anderson, 33 votes, for the inside of the city limits seat.

Joni Hovde, 79, votes was elected for the area west of Highway 81, outside of the city limits seat.

Northwood (unofficial): Incumbent Brian Twete, 59 votes, was re-elected to the city seat for a three-year term.

Incumbent Nicole Korsmo, 58 votes, was re-elected to a three-year term for the rural seat.

Adam Naastad, 41 votes, was elected to a two-year term for a rural seat.

Park River Area: Incumbent Bill Bata, 72 votes, was re-elected to the Adams seat.

Brad Brummond, 72 votes, was re-elected to the city of Park River seat.

Donald Porter, 50 votes, defeated incumbent Tracy Laaveg, 30 votes, for the rural Park River seat.

Warwick: Incumbents Larry Thele and Shane Moxness were re-elected.

Related Topics: EDUCATION
Ann is a journalism veteran with nearly 40 years of reporting and editing experiences on a variety of topics including agriculture and business. Story ideas or questions can be sent to Ann by email at: or phone at: 218-779-8093.
What To Read Next
The North Dakota Highway Patrol is investigating the crash.
Progress has been stymied by federal government’s delay in releasing funds
The North Dakota Highway Patrol is investigating the crash.
Sponsors include Farmers Union Enterprises, Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council, Minnesota Soybean Growers Association and the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute.