BISMARCK — The Trump administration has granted North Dakota's request for a disaster declaration that frees up federal funds to help recover from spring flooding, Governor Doug Burgum's office said Wednesday, June 12.

The declaration covers the period from March 21 to April 29 and includes the counties of Adams, Barnes, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Grand Forks, Grant, Hettinger, LaMoure, Logan, McKenzie, Morton, Pembina, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Traill and Walsh.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

The state's assessment of the damages could be as high as $10.5 million.

"This presidential disaster declaration will help our local governments and agencies recover from extensive infrastructure damage and make resources available to help communities reduce the long-term risk of future flooding," the Republican governor said in a statement.