North Dakota's senator-elect, Kevin Cramer, has been named to five Senate committees, according to a news release.

The committees are: Veteran Affairs, Armed Services, Environment and Public Works, Budget, and Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

"I am grateful to (U.S. Senate Majority) Leader (Mitch) McConnell and his team for accommodating my committee requests," Cramer said in a statement. "My goal was to join committees that will complement Senator (John) Hoeven's assignments and maximize our collaborative influence for North Dakota, and we certainly accomplished that."

In the most recent session, Hoeven, R-N.D., served in committees on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, Appropriations, Energy and Natural Resources, Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs and Indian Affairs.

Cramer has represented North Dakota in the U.S. House of Representatives since 2012, where he served on three subcommittees of the Energy and Commerce Committee. Those were Communications and Technology, Energy, and Environment.