Weather Forecast


Results for regional races

There are multiple elections across northeast North Dakota that have more candidates than seats. Here are the winners for races that are contested in the region.

Note: County and legislative races will be in the November general election, but the list of candidates will be narrowed in the primary election. The primary election is the final vote for all city races. This list may not include every race in the region. Results are unofficial and are reported as of 9:45 p.m. Tuesday. Nelson County did not report by this time.

District 19 Senate

Robert Fors - Republican

Nikolaus Groenewold - Democrat

Cavalier County Commission two-year term (two move on for one seat)

Gregory Goodman

Cregg Stein

Cavalier County Commission four-year term (six move on for three seats)

Austin Lafrenz

Elsie Magnus

F. Kenneth Olafson

Nick Moser

Shauna Schneider

Stanley Dick

Cavalier City Council Ward 3

Thomas Beard III

Crystal mayor

Larry McCollum

Two Crystal Park Board seats

Allison Olimb

Shelly Hunter

Two Devils Lake City Commission seats

Jacob Volk

Rob Hach

Three Devils Lake Park Commission seats

Jamie Beck

Kale Stromme

Mark Woodrow

Three Drayton City Council seats

Christopher Passa

Jordan Grundstrom

Michael Larson

Three Hatton City Council seats

Bernie Johnson

Curtis Huus

Scott A. Phipps

Two Hillsboro City Commission seats

Dave Sather

Levi Reese

Hillsboro School Board

Mary Mattson

Two Hoople City Council seats

Jeff Olson

Ronald Hultin

Larimore City Council Ward 3

Adam Vonasek

Two Manvel City Council seats

Jeremy Clemetson

Michael Lund

May-Port CG School Board seat

Jeremy Strand

Three Mayville City Council seats

Johnny Jorgensen

Mike Carr

Ray Petersen

Minto mayor

Larry Jamieson

Two Minto City Council seats

Thomas Sitzer

David Gerszewski

Northwood City Council Ward 1

Derrick Strand

Park River City Council Ward 1

Dennis Kubat

Park River City Council Ward 2

Joey Miller

Two Reynolds City Council seats

David Scholand

Dorian Beck

Traill County Commission (two move on for one seat)

Ben Hershey

Ken Nesvig

Walhalla mayor

Michael Belanus

Three Walhalla City Council seats

Larry Schill

Myrna Styles

Raela Kalis

Walhalla municipal judge

James Benjaminson

Walhalla Park Board two-year term

Hailey Moore

Two Walhalla Park Board seats

Danial Nelson

Waldemar Melsted

Walsh County Commission (six move on for three seats)

Dennis V. Sorheim

Ernie Barta

John Narloch

Lawrence Burianek

Terry Novak

Tracton "Trac" Lewis

April Baumgarten

April Baumgarten joined the Grand Forks Herald May 19, 2015, and covers crime and education. She grew up on a ranch 10 miles southeast of Belfield, where her family raises registered Hereford cattle. She double majored in communications and history/political science at Jamestown (N.D.) College, now known as University of Jamestown. During her time at the college, she worked as a reporter and editor-in-chief for the university's newspaper, The Collegian. Baumgarten previously worked for The Dickinson Press as a city government and energy reporter in 2011 before becoming the editor of the Hazen Star and Center Republican. She then returned to The Press as a news editor, where she helped lead an award-winning newsroom in recording the historical oil boom.

Have a story idea? Contact Baumgarten at 701-780-1248.

(701) 780-1248