Weather Forecast


District 42 Republicans defeat Schneider, Oversen in North Dakota legislative race

1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3

Republicans have won all three District 42 seats, defeating two high-ranking Democratic legislators.

With all votes counted, Republicans Curt Kreun, Jake Blum and Emily O’Brien all have won seats into the North Dakota Legislators, knocking off Senate Minority Leader Mac Schneider, state party chairwoman Kylie Oversen and Grant Hauschild. The results are unofficial.

According to the Secretary of State’s website, Kreun grabbed 2,277 votes (52.24 percent) to Schneider’s 2,071 votes (47.51 percent) to win the district’s Senate race.

Kreun previously had served in the North Dakota House of Representatives in District 43. He has previously served on the Grand Forks City Council and East Grand Forks School Board.

In the race for District 42 representative, Jake Blum and Emily O’Brien grabbed  2,025 votes (27.16 percent) and 1,945 votes (26.09 percent), respectively.

They outpaced Oversen with 1,806 votes (24 percent) and Hauschild with 1,672 (22 percent).

Blum, 22, a student at UND, has worked as a UND state governmental affairs commissioner and the District 42 GOP vice chairman.

O’Brien, 24, is entrepreneur specialist and chairwoman of the Dakota Venture Group, a student-run venture capital organization.

Those elected to the North Dakota Senate and House serve four year terms.

One of the seats in District 42 was vacant after Democrat Corey Mock moved out of District 42 and into District 18.

District 42 encompasses the northern part of Grand Forks, including the UND campus, its surrounding area and some neighborhoods west of Interstate 29.

Wade Rupard

Wade Rupard is a reporter for The Grand Forks Herald. Rupard is a 2014 graduate of the Missouri School of Journalism and is originally from Normal, Ill. 

(701) 780-1122