Eight seniors in Grand Forks public schools have been named district nominees for the U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education Program.

They are Red River High School students Gannon Brooks, Denver Flanagan, Carson Mathre and Caitlin MacKenzie, and Grand Forks Central High School students Brenden Elliot, Hannah Hynek, Dylan Kiley and Madeline Stangl. Their names have been submitted to the North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education for consideration for the award.

Each student has completed a CTE-coordinated plan of study or career pathway, has earned a minimum 3.0 grade point average and 3.25 grade point average in the CTE coordinated plan of study or career pathway, and has demonstrated technical competence, employability, ingenuity, creativity and problem-solving skills.

“Each of these students possesses the outstanding talents, leadership skills, and character traits that make them an excellent representative of Grand Forks Public Schools and our CTE program,” Eric Ripley, executive director of career and technical education and technology for the school district, said in a news release.

The state CTE department will review all applications before selecting up to five state applicants to advance to the Commission on Presidential Scholars. Those applicants will then be reviewed at the national level by a committee experienced in career and technical education. That committee will choose 60 applicants to be named as semifinalists.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

The 60 CTE semifinalist applications will then be reviewed by the Commission on Presidential Scholars. All 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be selected by the Commission on Presidential Scholars and will receive the Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony in their honor in Washington, D.C.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 2015, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.