Red River High School students captured the team state championship at the State DECA Conference recently in Bismarck, said Brent Polum, a DECA adviser at the school.

In the competition, the students earned 16 first-place, 14 second-place and three third-place finishes.

DECA, which stands for Distributive Education Clubs of America, is a co-curricular organization that provides high school students an opportunity to develop leadership skills and prepare for future careers. Students must be enrolled in a marketing class to be a DECA member.

“Our students did an excellent job representing the city of Grand Forks, Red River High School, their parents, and themselves. They should be very proud of their efforts,” Polum said in a news release.

All students who earned first- through third-place honors qualify to participate in the virtual DECA International Career Development Conference later this month.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

First place winners are: Hayden Adair, integrated marketing campaign for an event; Nana Adjekum and Shri Patel, school-based enterprise; Campbell Dorsey and Caitlin Mackenzie, international business plan; Jordyn Knott, independent business plan; Camden Larsen, financial consulting and personal financial literacy; Brady Meland, hospitality and tourism professional selling; Matthew Moe and Clarkson Sande, buying and merchandising, and integrated marketing campaign for a product; Ally Nelson, Grace Schindler and Lauren Tibert, hospitality and tourism operations research; Mark Raymond, accounting; Katie Swartz, principles of business management; Natalia Tchomakhidze, finance operations research; and Theodore Tchomakhidze, entrepreneurship; selling and innovation.

Second place winners are: Nana Adjekum, apparel and accessories marketing series; Derek Chaves, franchise business plan; Campbell Dorsey and Caitlin Mackenzie, travel and tourism team decision making; Avery Dusterhoft and Amanda Marsh, entrepreneurship team decision-making and start-up business plan; Matthew Moe and Clarkson Sande, hospitality and tourism operations research; Ryan Nordhagen, buying and merchandising operations research; Justice Reilly, business services marketing series; Grace Schindler, principles of business management; Sudiksha Singhal, entrepreneurship and entrepreneurship independent business plan; Emma Storstad, innovation and marketing communication series; and Katie Swartz, integrated marketing plan - service.

Third place winners are: Marissa Esquivel, hotel and lodging management series; Shri Patel, business services marketing series; and Lauren Tibert, principles of finance.