Angie Jonasson, principal at Lake Agassiz Elementary School, has been named Region 4 Principal of the Year by the North Dakota Association of Elementary School Principals.

The award recognizes principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and school climate for the students, families and employees in their learning communities.

The regional principal award-winners will be honored at the state association's ceremony in early 2021.

One of the regional award recipients will be selected to represent North Dakota at the National Association of Elementary School Principals’ National Distinguished Principal of the Year award ceremony in October 2021 in Washington, D.C.

“Principals nominate peers in their field who are demonstrating a high level of integrity, doing the right work each and every day for students,” said Shari Bilden, NDAESP awards chair, in a news release. “I couldn’t be happier for Angie on this well-deserved honor.”

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Jonasson has been employed by Grand Forks Public Schools for 23 years, first as a teacher, mentor and more recently as an elementary school administrator.

Superintendent Terry Brenner said Jonasson “is an exemplary leader when it comes to curriculum, instruction and social-emotional learning.”

She has been a leader in the area of student mental health and is skilled at working with students regardless of their level of progress, according to Brenner.

“Her ability to develop a school culture of common purpose is known across the district," he said.

The National Distinguished Principal of the Year award program honors outstanding elementary and middle-level principals who ensure students acquire a sound foundation for lifelong learning and achievement.