Kyle Korman, a cyber operations major from Grand Forks, has been named as one of nine Dakota State University students to be a member of the CyberCorps Scholars for 2019-2020.

The program, funded by a National Science Foundation grant, is intended to increase and strengthen the cadre of federal information assurance professionals that protect the government’s critical information infrastructure.

“Ultimately, when the students leave the program, they are going to take a position in government with the intent that they will work in critical cyber areas of need,” said Michael Ham, assistant professor cyber operations in The Beacom College of Computer and Cyber Sciences and director of DSU’s CyberCorps program. “The pipeline of graduates into the government workforce will hopefully help close the ever-expanding shortage of qualified cybersecurity professionals."

There are 31 current students in the program. The nine in the 2019-2020 cohort are very involved on campus, in their peer groups and in the community, according to Ham.

“We want to see students being engaged in their cybersecurity studies, spreading their knowledge through clubs and competitions as leaders, supporting their peers, making connections with faculty and mentors and overall being hungry to research, learn and make an impact,” Ham said.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

All tuition and fees are covered for students in the program. The students receive a yearly stipend, $25,000 for undergraduate students and $34,000 for graduate students. They also receive $6,000 in professional development funding, books and supplies. The students' scholarship may be renewed for up to three years.

The other eight members of the 2019-2020 CyberCorps cohort include:

  • Alexis VanderWilt, a computer science and mathematics for information systems major from Mitchell, S.D.
  • Anna Fields, a computer science and cyber operations major from Jackson, Minn.
  • Baily Belisario, a cyber operations major from Cartersville, Ga.
  • Christopher Loutsch, a cyber operations major from Milbank, S.D.
  • Logan Stratton, computer science and cyber operations major from Luverne, Minn.
  • Tristan Fletcher, a cyber operations major from Rapid City, S.D.
  • Zachary Quintana, a cyber operations major from Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Nathan Harmer, a network security and administration major from Harrisburg, S.D.