MAYVILLE, N.D. - The next president of Mayville State University now serves as associate provost at Murray State University in Kentucky.

Brian Van Horn was selected Wednesday, March 28, by the State Board of Higher Education to serve as Mayville State's 17th president, starting no later than July.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

"Here we make an impact for life on students, and I appreciate North Dakota's commitment to affordability," Van Horn told board members during his interview.

Van Horn told board members that he will work to boost enrollment, which he said he's done at Murray State University, where enrollment increased with his involvement by 54 percent during the past decade.

Also at Murray State, Van Horn has had to cope with budget cuts, and he worked to increase efficiencies - a skill likely to come in handy given North Dakota's ongoing budget struggles.

"The board underwent careful deliberations, and it was a difficult decision to make," said Don Morton, chairman of the state board. Morton said the board had three strong candidates. "We are excited about the possibilities for Van Horn," he said.

Van Horn, one of three finalists interviewed for the position, will have a salary of $199,500. He succeeds Gary Hagen, who will retire this summer after serving more than four decades at the university.