A seventh-grade student at Elroy Schroeder Middle School, Raegan Salgado has been selected to attend the 2018 Summer Space Camp in July at Huntsville, Ala., Grand Forks Public Schools has announced.

Salgado wrote an essay about her interest in attending the camp, how the camp will positively affect her as a student, and her career aspirations.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

A three-member panel of Grand Forks school district administrators selected the winning entry.

The mission of Space Camp is to provide students educational experiences in space science and aviation. The program incorporates real-world applications of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education.

At the Space Camp, Salgado will be among 80 students worldwide to take a simulated walk on the moon, build and launch a model rockets, learn what it's like to live on board the International Space Station and discover the newest rocket that will carry NASA astronauts to Mars.

Salgado's all-expenses-paid experience is sponsored by the Northrop Grumman Foundation. This is the fifth consecutive year the foundation has sponsored a student from Grand Forks Public Schools.

Students receive art awards

The Taube Museum of Art in Minot, N.D., has announced the 2017-18 winners of the North Dakota Juried Art Show.

Each spring, students submit art pieces to be juried at the museum. This year, 737 entries were submitted, according to a news release from Grand Forks Public Schools.

"Back to Our Roots," by Susan Burke, and "Sunlit Shadows," by Hannah Quinn, both students at Red River High School, and "In Between Two Worlds," by Destre' Hopkins, Grand Forks Central High School, were selected to receive the Congressional Art Award, sponsored by Rep. Kevin Cramer, R-N.D.

Noah Lopez, a student a Nathan Twining Elementary and Middle School, was selected as a Northern Visions award winner. That award is sponsored by Sen. John Hoeven R-N.D.

Entries by two students were selected as State of the Arts Award winners: "The View From My Favorite Twins," by Hopkins, and an untitled piece by Ashlynn Hagen, a student at South Middle School. The award is sponsored by Sen. Heidi Heitkamp D-N.D.

"The Flight of the Bumblebee," by Maya Piedrola, a student at Valley Middle School, was selected as a Taube Museum of Art award winner.

"Sunset Rising Over Panda," by Jasmine Thomas, of Nathan Twining Elementary and Middle School, and "Memories," by Dericka Akes, of Valley Middle School, were selected as People's Choice Award winners.

Ninth- through 12th-grade students who were named Traveling Award winners are:

Grand Forks Central High School-Mollie Byzewski, Emily Colton, Keely Davidson, Jessica Francois, Zoie Frattin, Katie Nelson

Red River High School-Ashley Combs, Jill Goodman, Morgan Haga, Alex Hrabchak, Alexandra Richards

Students in grades 7 and 8 who were named Traveling Award winners are:

Nathan Twining Elementary and Middle School-Danielle Capili, Kaitlyn Jumonville

Valley Middle School-Isabell Crawford

Elroy Schroeder Middle School-Lukas Heydt, Isaac Schall

South Middle School-Natalia Tchomakhidze

Students in grades kindergarten through six who were named Traveling Award winners are: Aiden Engen, Morgan Hartze, Carolyn Johnson and Ella McMullin, all students at South Middle School.