REPORT OF THE PROCEEDINGS GRAND FORKS SCHOOL BOARD April 11, 2022 The School Board of Grand Forks Public School District No. 1 met in a regular session on Monday, April 11, 2022, at the Mark Sanford Education Center with President Eric Lunn presiding. Board Members Present: Doug Carpenter, Chris Douthit, Jacqueline Hassett via phone, Eric Lunn, Jeff Manley, Bill Palmiscno, and Cynthia Shabb. Absent: Amber Flynn and Shannon Mikula. Student Board Members Present: None. Absent: Alicia De La Cruz and Evan Whalen. Others Present: Dr. Terry Brenner, Superintendent of Schools; Michelle Emineth, Interim Business Manager; Catherine Gillach, Associate Superintendent of Secondary Education; Dr. Brenda Lewis, Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Education; Melissa Buchhop, President, Grand Forks Education Association; Nichole Deneseus via phone, GFAFB School Board Member; and Cindy Johnson, Executive Secretary. Kelly Elementary Building Tour: 5:30-6:15 pm. Call to Order: 6:30 pm. Motion and second carried to approve the agenda as written. Celebrating Success: Lake Agassiz Elementary therapy dog, classified and certified employees of the 3rd quarter, and VFW Teacher of the Year. Public Comments: Erin McSparron. Motion and second carried to approve the minutes of March 28, 2022, as written. Motion and second carried to approve the minutes of April 4, 2022, as written. Discussed: Review school board norms. Motion and second carried to approve the transfer of $46,179 from the personnel category to the equipment category from the 2021-2022 Third Year of the Five-Year Continuation grant as requested. Discussed: Board Education – Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Belonging (DEIB), Debrief Kelly Elementary School Building Tour, and Pre-Referendum Steps. Motion and second carried to approve the consent agenda as follows: Appointments effective August 22, 2022 of Amber Anderson, Special Education Teacher (salary $43,774); Jack Boyer, Vocal Music Teacher (salary $52,609); Jodi Erhardt, EL Teacher (salary $56,600); Summer Hoverson, Math Interventionist (salary $55,802); Brenna Page, Special Education Teacher (salary $43,774); and Tatiana Riskey, Special Education Teacher (salary $43,774); Administrator Leave of Absence effective the 2022-2023 school year for Jodi Dodson; Resignation and Release effective April 5, 2022, of Desiree Sunde aka Desiree Richotte, Special Education Teacher; and Resignations effective June 3, 2022, of Brittany Baker McNelly, Special Education Teacher; Jason Hawley, World Languages Teacher; Renee Huether, Vocal Music Teacher; Kara Hung, World Languages Teacher; Kayla Kircher, Kindergarten Teacher; Mary Kulas, Elementary Art Coordinator; Jordan LaPlant, Physical Education Teacher; Holly Lathrop, Special Education Teacher; Allissa Lester, Social Worker; Lorina Limarri, World Languages Teacher; Michael McNelly, Special Education Teacher; Meghan Nordstog, School Counselor; Madeline Nygaard, English Teacher; Clarissa Pearson, Grade 2 Teacher; Morganne Plesha, Grade 6 Teacher; Kent Ripplinger, Data Analysis Coordinator; George Roughead, Social Science Teacher; and Kaydra Weigel, Math Teacher. Motion and second carried to approve all of the summer school programs as presented. Motion and second carried to approve the amended Student Transportation Services Agreement for 2021-2022 as presented. Motion and second carried to appoint Mr. Jay Hepperle as associate principal at Red River High School effective the 2022-2023 school year at a salary of $114,427 with a school factor of $2,000. Motion and second carried to rescind the Resolution Granting Emergency Powers to the Superintendent to address the COVID-19 emergency. Announcements: Emineth’s last meeting. Discussed: School board norms-how did we do? Adjourned: 8:22 p.m. (May 11, 2022) 61788