The UND Wind Ensemble and University Band will present a combined concert, with the theme “Out of This World!,” recognizing UND as the first school in the country to partner with the U.S. Space Force.

The concert begins at 8 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 12, in the Chester Fritz Auditorium. Tickets are $7 for adults and $3 for students and senior citizens, or $14 per family. Guests are asked to wear masks to comply with university safety protocols, and the ensemble members will be wearing masks and using bell covers on their instruments, said James Popejoy, UND director of bands.

The concert also will be livestreamed and can be found on the UND Music Department website, .

This concert, which honors UND for becoming the first school in the country to partner with the U.S. Space Force, will feature music inspired by space, said Popejoy, conductor. The University Partnership Program was established by the U.S. Space Force to harness innovations by universities across the country, he said.

The University Band will open the concert with music by John Williams, including themes from the films “Lost in Space,” “Star Wars,” “SpaceCamp” and “E.T.,” and Gustav Holst’s compositions of “Mars” and “Jupiter” from “The Planets.”

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

The University Band will also perform “Open Space,” by Brian Balmages; “Saturn: The Ringed Planet,” by Rob Romeyn; and “Swingin’ on the Moon,” featuring well-known jazz standards such as “Blue Moon,” “Moonlight Serenade” and “How High the Moon.”

A performance of “The Invincible Eagle,” by John Philip Sousa, the official march of the U.S. Space Force, will conclude the university’s Band’s performance.

The UND Wind Ensemble will open its portion of the concert with “Journey Through the Stratosphere,” by film composer Rossano Galante. The group will also present the new wind symphony, “The Seas of the Moon,” by Robert Buckley; “By the Light of the Polar Star,” by Sousa, and “Galactica Empires,” by David Gillingham.

The Wind Ensemble will close its performance with “Symphonic Suite from Star Trek,” by Michael Giacchino.

For more information, contact Popejoy at (701) 777-2815 or .