Weather Forecast


GF native chosen for Minnesota Orchestra honor

Matthew Peterson, a graduate of Grand Forks Central High School, received bachelor's and master's degrees in music composition from St. Olaf (Minn.) College and Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.

Grand Forks native Matt Peterson, who lives in Stockholm, Sweden, is among seven emerging composers selected as participants in the Minnesota Orchestra's 12th annual Composer Institute.

Chosen from a pool of 165 candidates through a competitive process, the composers represent four nationalities and reside throughout the U.S. and Europe, and their works encompass a variety of musical styles, said a news release from the Minnesota Orchestra.

Peterson and the other composers will be in Minneapolis from Jan. 7-11 for rehearsals, seminars and tutoring sessions and for the "Future Classics" concert of their works Jan. 11 at Ted Mann Concert Hall on the University of Minnesota's West Bank campus.

Peterson, who graduated from Grand Forks Central High School in 2002, has received commissions from musicians and ensembles in the U.S., England and Sweden, and his works have been performed across North America and Europe.

His output includes two chamber operas and six orchestral scores; choral works; pieces for soloists, chamber ensembles and electronic media; and post-rock songs for his band in Sweden. He has received many honors including the Fulbright Grant.

He studied composition at St. Olaf College, Indiana University and the Gotlands Tonsättarskola, served on the faculty of the Gotland School of Music and was an associate instructor at Indiana University. His website is The Orchestra will perform his Hyperborea.

The 2013 Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute is sponsored by The Aaron Copland Fund for Music, Inc.; The Amphion Foundation, Inc.; Catherine L. and Gerald B. Fischer; Jack and Linda Hoeschler Family Fund of The Saint Paul Foundation; Hella Mears Hueg and Bill Hueg; Daniel and Constance Kunin; National Endowment for the Arts; David and Judy Ranheim; and Frederick E. and Gloria B. Sewell.

This activity is made possible in part by a grant provided by the Minnesota State Arts Board through an appropriation by the Minnesota Legislature and a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.