1. 1977 -- Grand Forks Central 1, Red River 1 (tie)

Grand Forks Central and Red River are named co-champions with the teams tied 1-1 after eight overtimes. A regulation high school hockey game lasts 45 minutes. This one lasted 85. Fearing exhaustion and injury for the players, officials declare the rivals as co-champs.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

2. 1992 -- Minot 8, Bismarck 7

Tom Philion scores two goals and adds three assists as the Magicians claim the first state title for a West Region team. Philion, who goes on to play at UND, had 15 points in the three games.

3. 1978 -- Grafton 9, Fargo North 3

Grafton becomes the first non-Grand Forks team to win the state title as Mark Langowski and Tom Persson score two goals each and goalie Denton Offutt makes 20 saves. A first-time winner is assured when Red River and Central fall in the semifinals.

4. 1974 -- Grand Forks Red River 2, Fargo North 1

In the 14th state tournament, Red River becomes the first school other than Central to win the title. The Roughriders are an unlikely champion as they finish with a 10-11-0 record with the three state tournament wins. Goalie Dan Johnson makes 29 saves and Brad Gador and Ron Bachmeier score goals.

5. 2001 -- Grand Forks Red River 2, Fargo North 1

In the tournament's longest game, Red River sophomore Ryan Moore scores on a rebound in the fifth overtime for the win. The game lasts 95 minutes, 37 seconds. Red River outshoots North 75-23, but North goalie Aaron Walski makes a tournament record 73 saves. Both Walski and Red River goalie Nate Ziegelman go on to play for UND.

6. 1967 -- Grand Forks Central 7, Fargo North 0

Central outscores its three tournament opponents by 26-1. In the championship, goalie Bill Roller has to make just six saves. Central finishes with a 22-0 record, including numerous wins over Minnesota powers.

7. 2008 -- Grafton-Park River 3, Grand Forks Red River 2

Grafton wins in the third overtime when Chad Demers buries a feed from Ryan Mohagen. Red River's only loss to a North Dakota team all season leaves the Roughriders upset after a home video posted on YouTube video shows Grafton-Park River has an extra skater on the ice for the winner. Two weeks later, three juveniles -- alleged to be from Red River -- break into the Grafton school and arena in an attempt to get the championship trophy.

8. 2003 -- Grand Forks Central 5, Grand Forks Red River 0

Central outscores its three state tournament opponents 21-0 after also holding its three opponents scoreless in the regional.

9. 1990 -- Grand Forks Red River 1, Grand Forks Central 0

Goalie Peter Nordell gets the shutout and Chad Skarperud scores the winner on a rebound in the second overtime as Red River wins its fourth straight title. The goal ends 55 minutes, 54 seconds of scoreless hockey.

10. 1970 -- Grand Forks Central 11, Fargo North 0

Dennis Johnson scores six goals and adds an assist as Central Coach Serge Gambucci bows out a winner in his last season. Gambucci goes 10-for-10 in state tournaments and finishes his 15 seasons at Central with a 258-39 record.