Prairie Business has announced its 2019 Top 25 Women in Business, eight of which are based in the Grand Forks and East Grand Forks area.

The Top 25 Women in Business award was created to draw attention to the many creative, successful businesswomen in North Dakota, South Dakota and western Minnesota, the magazine said in a release. This is the sixth year the magazine has held this contest.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

The Grand Forks area women honored are:

● Elizabeth Bjerke, associate dean of UND's John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences. Bjerke has worked with several national organizations to find solutions to the pilot shortage and has presented her research all over the country.

● Greta Gerloff, who works for Altru as a business planning specialist. Gerloff has helped bring in new services and has had several facility expansion plans approved by the board in her time at Altru.

● Emily Holth, founder and owner of Sustainable Solution Services. The professional conflict resolution firm provides services for clients throughout the Upper Midwest.

● Melanie Jensen, senior chemical engineer and CO2 capture and infrastructure engineering team lead at UND's Energy and Environmental Research Center. In her time with the organization, she has pioneered new technology and worked to reduce carbon emissions from industrial sources.

● Karna Loyland, director of deposits at Alerus, leads the company's deposit offerings.

● Erin Johnson, vice president and finance and accounting specialist at Widseth Smith Nolting in East Grand Forks. Johnson has steered the company through challenges and helped the company grow, according to her nomination.

● Ann-Marie Morrow, assistant vice president and branch manager for TCF Home Loans. Morrow also has served two terms on the North Dakota Association of Realtors Real Estate Trust Account Committee.

● Erin O'Leary, chief financial officer and chief operating officer for UND's Energy and Environmental Research Center. In her time with the organization, she has managed both technical and financial teams.

Winners come from a variety of backgrounds and work in finance, health care, engineering and other industries.

A full list of the winners can be found on the Prairie Business website.