Weather Forecast


T.J. Oshie signs $46-million deal with Washington Capitals

T.J. Oshie didn’t wait until the open of the NHL’s free agency period to make a big splash.

The former Warroad High and UND star forward decided he didn’t need to look around at new opportunities.

Oshie signed an eight-year, $46 million deal with the Washington Capitals on Friday night before the NHL Draft to stay in a place where he flourished this season.

Oshie scored a career-high 33 goals with the Capitals this season and tallied 56 points.

Oshie, who is entering his 10th professional season, expressed interest in re-signing with the Capitals after their season ended against eventual Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh.

“Couldn’t be happier to re-sign with the @Capitals!!” Oshie wrote on Twitter. “Great city, great organization and even more important great people. #GoCaps #RockTheRed”

Oshie is the fourth former UND player to sign a contract worth more than $45 million.

His former teammate, Travis Zajac, is on an eight-year, $46 million deal with the New Jersey Devils. Jonathan Toews is on an eight-year, $84 million contract with the Chicago Blackhawks. And Zach Parise is on a 13-year, $98 million deal with the Minnesota Wild.

Oshie was set to become an unrestricted free agent on July 1.

He would have been one of the most sought-after free agents on the market this summer had he waited until July.

UND's big contracts

T.J. Oshie signs $46 million deal with Washington

Zach PariseMinnesota13 years$98 million
Jonathan ToewsChicago8 years$84 million
Travis ZajacNew Jersey8 years$46 million
T.J. OshieWashington8 years$46 million
Jonathan ToewsChicago5 years$31 million
T.J. OshieSt. Louis5 years$20.875 million
Jason BlakeToronto5 years$20 million
Mike CommodoreCarolina5 years$18.75 million
Travis ZajacNew Jersey4 years$15.55 million
Matt GreeneLos Angeles5 years$14.75 million
SOURCE: CapFriendly
Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 13th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129