Weather Forecast


GIRLS STATE HOCKEY: Packers claim 8-0 win over Fargo North

Entering West Fargo’s quarterfinal at the North Dakota state girls hockey tournament, senior forward Kelly Krahn had five career postseason goals.

She almost matched that total Thursday.

Krahn scored four goals to help lead the Packers to an 8-0 win over Fargo North at Olympic Arena.

“It felt great,” Krahn said of the four-goal effort. “It is definitely one of the best games I have ever played.”

West Fargo (19-4-1) advances to play in the semifinals at approximately 2:30 p.m. today at Ralph Engelstad Arena. The Spartans (7-17-0) play in the consolation semifinals at approximately 7:30 p.m. at Olympic Arena.

The Packers built a 2-0 lead after the first period with both goals coming from Krahn.

“We started out a little slow, but once we started to score, we were clicking a lot more,” senior center Allison Springer said. “We had to get that first one to get going and get the pregame jitters out of the way.”

Springer scored an unassisted goal in the second period for the Packers – one of five West Fargo would score before the second intermission.

“I thought we moved the puck around well, and we always were in the right spot at the right time,” said Krahn, who also had an assist in the game.

Kourtney Lothspeich, Paige Lazorenko and Haley Kringlie also scored goals for West Fargo.

The Packers are making their fifth straight trip to the state semifinals.

“It is a great win, but it’s not over,” Springer said. “We have to keep working hard.”

West Fargo junior goaltender Morgan Stirling stopped six shots and recorded her 14th shutout of the season.

The Packers held a 34-6 advantage over the Spartans in shots on goal.

“They shoot the puck very well,” North head coach Kris Dougherty said of the Packers. “I thought the majority of the game our girls did what we asked them to do. The put up a fight and held them to one goal in the third period.”

Tom Mix

Tom Mix is the North Dakota high school sports reporter. He's worked at The Forum for five years. He was the 2013 North Dakota sportswriter of the year, an award that is sponsored by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. Have a comment to share about a story? Letters to the editor should include author’s name, address and phone number. Generally, letters should be no longer than 250 words. All letters are subject to editing. Send to  

(701) 241-5562