Weather Forecast


AUTO RACING: Seng roars to his second straight late model feature win

Late Model drivers #11 Troy Schil and #12 Brad Seng race side-by-side during heat races Friday night at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks. (Luke Franke/Grand Forks Herald)1 / 2
Late Model drivers #7P Joey Pederson and #10 Mike Balcaen race side-by-side during heat races Friday night at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks. (Luke Franke/Grand Forks Herald)2 / 2

With a few laps remaining, the last thing Brad Seng wanted to see was a yellow flag.

But the yellow did come out. However, it didn’t matter.

In a dominating performance, Seng roared to his second straight late model feature win Friday night at River Cities Speedway.

The win also left Seng with the season points lead as the Grand Forks driver jumped over Joey Pederson, who held the lead coming into the night.

Seng started third but was in the lead at the end of the second lap as he slipped past pole-sitter Bill Mooney as both drivers came out of Turn 4.

From there, Seng drove away from the field. He had nearly a straight-away lead on Pederson when the yellow came out on Lap 16.

“You never want to see a caution with less than five to go,” said Seng. “You look up at the board and you see No. 7 (Pederson), 17 (Zach Naastad), 5 (Shane Edginton) and 10 (Mike Balcaen).

“You just don’t want the yellow to come out when you’re leading and those guys are behind you.”

But the restart didn’t matter.

Seng bolted out to another safe cushion and cruised to the win.

“I just hit my spots and kept going,” he said.

Seng won by 2.519 seconds and posted the top speed of the night (80.125 mph).

Pederson finished second, followed by Edginton, Naastad and Tom Corcoran.

Seng has had the fastest car the past two weeks at RCS.

“For whatever reason the car has some forward drive in it. We can’t quite pinpoint why that is. But it’s working well and the crew is working well with it, too.”

The lineup was shuffled at RCS. The sprints had the night off as the Knoxville Nationals are underway.

In the Midwest modified feature, which was cut short due to a number of caution flags, Tyler Peterson took the win, holding off Dale Kraling, last week’s winner. Matt Schow was third.

Peterson and Ryan Schroeder were battling for the lead before they tangled in Turn 2 on Lap 8. Schroeder was running first and Peterson second. Both were given their spots back on the restart.

Schroeder’s car, however, was damaged and he spun on the restart. Peterson grabbed the lead and held off Kraling by 0.663 of a second.

Mike Anderson started on the front row and won the streets feature. Jordan Duray was second, followed by Travis Robertson.

Lightning sprints and super trucks were added to the field. Alan Truscinski won the lightning sprints feature, holding off Murray Temple. Truscinski posted the top speed as well, hitting 84.191 mph on Lap 1.

Rod Fidler won the super trucks feature.

Dobmeier third

Mark Dobmeier finished third Friday night in the second preliminary A main feature at the Knoxville Nationals, the country’s biggest sprint car event.

Dobmeier started on the pole in the 25-lap feature. However, Shane Stewart won the race followed by Kraig Kinser. Donny Schatz was fourth while David Gravel was fifth.

Dobmeier’s finish locked him into tonight’s Knoxville Nationals A main event, worth $150,000 to the winner.

Unofficially, Dobmeier will start 11th in tonight’s feature. 

Auto racing

River Cities Speedway

Friday’s results

Late models

First heat — 1. Brad Seng; 2. Troy Schill; 3. Zach Naastad

Second heat —  1. Bill Mooney; 2. Joey Pederson; 3. Mike Balcaen

Feature — 1. Seng; 2. Pederson; 3. Shane Edginton; 4. Naastad; 5. Tom Corcoran

Lightning sprints

First heat  1. Al Giesbrecht; 2. Alex Truscinski

Second heat — 1. Roland Bernard; 2. Dexter Dvergsten; 3. Chris Unrau

Third heat — 1. Murray Temple; 2. Alan Truscinski; 3. Brent Steg

Feature — 1. Alan Truscinski; 2. Temple; 3. Bernard; 4. Steg; 5. Giesbrecht

 Midwest modifieds

First heat — 1. Matt Schow; 2. John Halvorson; 3. Jeremy Lizakowski

Second heat — 1. Ryan Schroeder; 2. Tyler Peterson; 3. Greg Friestad

Third heat — 1. Dale Kraling; 2. Darren Pfau; 3. Adam Gajeski

Feature — 1. Peterson; 2. Kraling; 3. Schow; 4. Friestad; 5. Pfau


First heat — 1. Heath Corneliusen; 2. Travis Robertson; 3. Terry BlackLance

Second heat — 1. Tiffany Noreikis; 2. Bryce Reimer; 3. Ryan Johnson

Third heat — 1. Mike Anderson; 2. Jordan Duray; 3. Nick Minske

Feature — 1. Anderson; 2. Jordan Duray; 3. Robertson; 4. Johnson; 5. Corneliusen

Super trucks

Heat — 1. Michael Braget; 2. Rod Fidler; 3. Dustin Enns

Feature — 1. Fidler; 2. Braget; 3. Enns; 4. Dave Buffie; 5. Tyson Hiebert

Wayne Nelson
Nelson is the sports editor of the Herald
(701) 780-1268