Weather Forecast


Incumbents lead in Grand Forks County race

Gary Malm1 / 5
Tom Falck2 / 5
Dale Trosen3 / 5
Anne Lee4 / 5
Diane Knauf5 / 5

Though all five candidates for the three seats on the Grand Forks County Commission advanced to the November ballot, incumbents Diane K. Knauf and Gary K. Malm, and newcomer Tom Falck appear to have received the most votes during the primary election Tuesday.

With 25 of 27 precincts reporting at press time, Falck, Grand Forks, had 19.6 percent of the votes; Knauf, Grand Forks, 25.3 percent; newcomer Anna Lee, Northwood, 15.9 percent; Malm, Grand Forks, 22 percent; and newcomer Dale Trosen, Larimore, 17 percent.

Knauf is seeking a third term. Malm has been on the commission since 1990. Longtime Commissioner William “Spud” Murphy did not run for re-election.

County commissioners serve four-year terms and receive $17,484 annual salaries.