Weather Forecast


Little Big Town, Kacey Musgraves coming to Grand Forks

County, city candidates file petitions for primary elections

Monday was the last day to file candidate petitions or nominations in North Dakota. Here's a list of candidates registered for North Dakota's city and county primary elections, according to the North Dakota Secretary of State's website.

Benson County

County Commission

District 2: No one filed.

District 4: David (Davey) Davidson, St. Michael.

Cavalier County

County Commission

Two four-year-term seats: Richard Ring, Langdon; Shauna Schneider, Langdon; David Zeis, Langdon.


Langdon City Commission (two four-year-term seats): Lawrence Henry; Marty Tetrault.

Grand Forks County

County Commission

Two at-large seats: David Engen, Northwood; Cynthia Pic, Niagara.

State's Attorney (unexpired two-year term): David Jones.


Grand Forks mayor: Michael Brown; Terry Bjerke.

Gilby mayor: Robert McLean.

Inkster mayor: Doug Petron.

Manvel mayor: Justan Mishler.

Niagara (unexpired two-year term): Gregory Neumann.

Thompson: Karyn Hippen.

Griggs County

County Commission

District 2: Shawn Steffen, Cooperstown.

District 4: Troy Olson, Cooperstown.


Binford mayor: Kenneth Gilbertson; Carrie Swanson.

Hannaford mayor: Russell Fliflet.

Nelson County

County Commission

District 1 (unexpired two-year term): W.J. (Jack) Davidson; Robert Frederick; Nancy Marquart. Marquart was appointed last year to temporarily fill the term of her late husband, Dan Marquart.

District 2: Bruce Ellertson, Michigan.

District 4: Alan Klefstad, Tolna.

Auditor (unexpired two-year-term): Sheila Fisk.


Aneta mayor: Todd Whitman.

Pekin mayor: (unexpired two-year term): Duane Avdem.

Petersburg mayor: Amber Vickaryous.

Tolna mayor: No one filed.

Lakota mayor: Jeffrey Russo.

Pembina County

County Commission

District 2 (two advance): James Benjaminson, Walhalla; Dennis Dame, Walhalla; Harry Holen, Walhalla; Kathy Stremick, Walhalla.

District 4: Laverne Doyle, Cavalier.

State's attorney (unexpired two-year term): Ryan Bialas; Rebecca Flanders.


Bathgate mayor: Ted Zaharia.

Hamilton mayor: No one filed.

Ramsey County

County Commission

Three seats: Incumbents Myrna Heisler, Devils Lake, and Mark Olson, Devils Lake; challengers Scott Diseth, Edmore; Jeff Frith, Devils Lake; Kelsie Bye, Devils Lake. Incumbent Commissioner Bill Mertens did not file.


Devils Lake City Commission (two seats): Incumbents Tim Heisler and Dale Robbins; challengers Mark Motis and Ben Sander.

Steele County

County Commission

District 2: Lance Fugleberg, Portland.

District 4: Randy Richards, Hope.

Towner County

County Commission

District 1: Mike Weisz, Cando.

District 3: Ken Teubner, Cando.

District 5: Scott Boe, Perth.

Traill County

County Commission

District 2: Kurt Elliott, Blanchard.

District 4: No one filed.


Buxton mayor: Gene Rosholt.

Portland mayor: Sven Mickels.

Walsh County

County Commission

Two seats: Incumbents Karen Anderson, Grafton; and Jack Karas, Lankin; challenger Lauren Wild, Grafton.

Grafton City Council

Ward 1: Jason Degeldere; Shane Mohn.

Ward 2: Greg Young.

Ward 3: Phil Ray.

Ward 4: Don Hutson.

Park River City Council

Ward 3: Joseph Fietek; Michael Lorton.

Ward 3 (unexpired two-year term): Kyle Halvorson.


Adams mayor: Alexander Bata; Richard Grove; Marlynn Hjelmstad.

Ardoch mayor: No one filed.

Conway mayor: Tara Dahl; Michael Slebodnik.

Fordville mayor: Cameron Korynta.

Lankin mayor: Francis Praska.

Minto mayor: Lane Kelley; Christopher Lizakowski; Mark Wilson.