Weather Forecast

Herald Graphic

Burn restrictions start Monday in northwest Minnesota

News Grand Forks,North Dakota 58203
Grand Forks Herald
Burn restrictions start Monday in northwest Minnesota
Grand Forks North Dakota 375 2nd Ave. N. 58203

Eleven northern Minnesota counties will face burning restrictions, beginning next week, according to the Department of Natural Resources.

Counties included in the restrictions, which begin Monday, are Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, Roseau and southern St. Louis.

Debris burning is especially dangerous during April and May when most wildfires occur in Minnesota, according to a DNR news release. Burning restrictions mean the state does not issue permits for burning brush or yard waste.

β€œThe spring fire restrictions have resulted in a dramatic decrease in both the numbers and sizes of accidental fires,” said Ron Stoffel, DNR wildfire suppression supervisor, in the news release.

Twenty-seven counties already are under spring burning restrictions.

The restrictions normally last from four to six weeks, until there is sufficient green vegetation growth.

DNR officials warn that fire danger can exist even if burning restrictions are not in place. Many local areas, counties or municipalities have specific regulations or restrictions that affect burning operations.

DNR advises residents to check with local authorities to obtain proper permits before burning.

Campfires are still allowed with proper precautions.

In North Dakota, the fire danger rating is high in the eastern third of the state and very high in the central and western portions. Counties included in the high-risk zone of eastern North Dakota are Benson; Cavalier; Grand Forks; Griggs; Nelson; Pembina; Ramsey; Rolette; Steele; Towner; Traill and Walsh.

However, no burning restrictions are in effect in Grand Forks County. Residents of other counties should check with their county emergency officials.